Jump to main content


Tullamore Acknowledge Contribution Of Club Stalwart ‘Dinny’

Tullamore Acknowledge Contribution Of Club Stalwart ‘Dinny’

Youths rugby at Tullamore RFC was started by Oliver ‘the Goalie’ McGlinchey, John Cahill and Denis Magner in 1974 with the long-term goal of providing additional players for adult teams in the club.

They could no longer rely on the supply of new Gardai, bankers, teachers (like John Cahill and Denis Magner), local government staff, etc to jobs in the town.  

Forty years later, the County Offaly club has won 31 age-grade Leinster Cup or Leinster League titles and enjoted two All Ireland Under-16 League successes.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There is no complete record of the number of Area League titles, but it is safe to say that Tullamore RFC have won more than any other club in the region.

Club members are proud of the fact that 11 Tullamore players have played rugby for Ireland and included in that list are two sets of brothers, the Brackens and the Farrells.

Peter Bracken has had the distinction of playing for both Irish Youths and Irish Schools. His Barbarians jersey as well as the Irish jerseys of the 11 internationals are proudly displayed in the clubhouse.

Tullamore also have a host of players who have played for Leinster Youths and this season had another player honored – and for the first time ever two Under-18 girls were capped for Leinster.

The success of the Youths is primarily due to the coaches and team managers the club have had over the years – Tullamore have been truly blessed in that regard. This year there are almost 50 people working with players from Under-19 level down to the Under-7s.

One man has stood the test of time and has been either a coach or the Youth co-ordinator or both for the full 40 years and that is Denis Magner. Congratulations ‘Dinny’!

Tullamore club President Gerry Egan acknowledged the contribution of Denis at their most recent post-match dinner and made a presentation to him of a framed photo of the teams he coached to Leinster titles.

Related Links –

Tullamore RFC

Leinster Club Rugby