Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-20 Squad Announced For RBS 6 Nations

Ireland Under-20 Squad Announced For RBS 6 Nations

A 28 man Ireland Under-20 squad, sponsored by PwC, has been named by head coach Mike Ruddock for the 2014 RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship.

Two players – Peter Dooley (Lansdowne) and Peadar Timmins (UCD) – are retained from last year’s squad with the majority of the players looking forward to making their Under-20 Six Nations debuts.

UCD flanker Dan Leavy has been installed as squad captain – he played four times for Ireland in last year’s IRB Junior World Championship and is another player who is set to make his U-20 Six Nations bow this spring.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Five other players selected who featured in last year’s JWC are Dooley, Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians ), Adam Byrne (UCD), Alex Wootton (Garryowen) and Timmins (UCD).

Seven of Leavy’s UCD colleagues are also in the squad – Ross Byrne, Adam Byrne, Billy Dardis, Nick McCarthy, Ross Molony, Garry Ringrose and Timmins.

Lansdowne also have seven players named in the squad – Shane Delahunt, Dooley, Ian Fitzpatrick, Stephen Gardiner, Oisin Heffernan, Cian Kelleher and Conor McKeon, while Cork Constitution – with Max Abbott and Rory Burke – and Buccaneers – with Rory Moloney and Jacob Walshe – both have two players selected.

Harrison Brewer from Terenure College – the son of Mike Brewer, the 32-times capped All Black – has also been named in the Championship panel.

In 2013, the Ireland Under-20s finished in third place in the Six Nations with two wins and a draw.

Ireland Under-20 head coach Mike Ruddock commented: “We have a very competitive group this year with a number of players gathering invaluable experience with provincial ‘A’ sides and in the Ulster Bank League.

“We have a good record at Dubarry Park and we will be looking to build on strong home form ahead of two difficult away fixtures.”

Damian Byrne, Partner, PwC, added: “Having the right talent working together is critical to success in sport and in business.

“We are committed to supporting the development of Irish rugby through our sponsorship of the Under-20 team and wish them every success in their upcoming 2014 RBS 6 Nations Championship.”

IRELAND UNDER-20 Squad (2014 RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship):

Max Abbott (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Harrison Brewer (Terenure College/Leinster)
Rory Burke (Cork Constitution/Munster)
David Busby (Queen’s University/Ulster)
Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
Jack Cullen (Bruff/Munster)
Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)
Shane Delahunt (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Dan Goggin (Young Munster/Munster)
Oisin Heffernan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)
Conor McKeon (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Ross Molony (UCD/Leinster)
Sean O’Brien (Galwegians/Connacht)
Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leintser)
Peter Robb (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Frankie Taggart (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
Jacob Walshe (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Alex Wootton (Garryowen/Munster)

IRELAND UNDER-20s’ Six Nations Fixtures –

IRELAND Under-20s v Scotland Under-20s
Dubarry Park, 7.05pm
Friday, January 31

IRELAND Under-20s v Wales Under-20s
Dubarry Park, 7.35pm
Friday, February 7

England Under-20s v IRELAND Under-20s
Franklin’s Gardens, Northampton, 6.15pm
Saturday, February 22

IRELAND Under-20s v Italy Under-20s
Dubarry Park, 7.05pm
Friday, March 7

France Under-20s v IRELAND Under-20s
Stade Maurice Trélut, Tarbes, 8.55pm local time/7.55pm Irish time
Friday, March 14