Jump to main content


Ireland Under-18 Schools Squad Named

Ireland Under-18 Schools Squad Named

The Ireland Under-18 Schools squad, sponsored by PwC, to face the Ireland Under-18 Clubs at Ashbourne RFC on Monday, December 30 has been announced.

St Michael’s College, Dublin have four players named in the squad – Charlie Cregan, Max Deegan, David Duggan and James Ryan – while fellow Leinster school Clongowes Wood College have three representatives on the panel – Will Connors, John Molony and Colm Mulcahy.

Presentation Brothers, Cork leads the way for Munster schools with three players named in the squad – Joe Ring, John Poland and Paul Kiernan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Paul is the son of Michael Kiernan, the 43-times capped Irish centre who toured with the Lions in 1983. Ard Scoil Ris (Shane Fenton) and Rockwell College (Sean O’Connor and Alan McMahon) are also represented.

Four Ulster schools are represented in the squad – Methodist College (Conor Kelly), Campbell College (Conor McIlmurray), Ballymena Academy (Josh McIlroy) and Wallace High School (Jacob Stockdale).

Garbally College, Galway has two players in the squad, Peter Claffey and Conor Kenny, while Conan O’Donnell from Summerhill College, Sligo is the other westerner selected.

The Ireland Under-18 Schools team take on the Ireland U-18 Clubs side at 12.30pm on Monday, December 30 at Asbourne RFC. There is no entrance fee for this match.

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS Squad (v Ireland Under-18 Clubs, Ashbourne RFC, Monday, December 30, kick-off 12.30pm):

Congall Callan (St. Gerard’s College/Leinster)
Tim Carroll (Cistercian College Roscrea/Leinster)
Peter Claffey (Garbally College/Connacht)
Will Connors (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
Charlie Cregan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Max Deegan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
David Duggan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Shane Fenton (Ard Scoil Ris/Munster)
Tim Foley (Cistercian College Roscrea/Leinster)
Greg Jones (St. Andrew’s College/Leinster)
Hugo Keane (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Conor Kelly (Methodist College/Ulster)
Conor Kenny (Garbally College/Connacht)
Paul Kiernan (Presentation Brothers Cork/Munster)
Conor McIlmurray (Campbell College/Ulster)
Josh McIlroy (Ballymena Academy/Ulster)
Alan McMahon (Rockwell College/Munster)
John Molony (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
Colm Mulcahy (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
Jimmy O’Brien (Newbridge College/Leinster)
Sean O’Connor (Rockwell College/Munster)
Conan O’Donnell (Summerhill College/Connacht)
John Poland (Presentation Brothers Cork/Munster)
Andrew Porter (St. Andrew’s College/Leinster)
Joe Ring (Presentation Brothers Cork/Munster)
James Ryan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Jacob Stockdale (Wallace High School/Ulster)