Jump to main content


Ireland U-18 Schools Team Named For Semi-Final

Ireland U-18 Schools Team Named For Semi-Final

The Ireland Under-18 Schools team to play France in the semi-final of the FIRA/AER Under-18 European Championship has been named.

Ireland take on France in Chambery on Tuesday evening with the game kicking off at 7pm local time.

Head coach Noel McNamara has made two changes to the side which overcame a spirited Georgia team 31-27 in the opening game last Friday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Rockwell’s Sean McNulty comes in at hooker for Andrew Roche, while Rory Moloney switches from blindside to openside flanker with Josh Murphy coming in for Patrick Thornton.

The team is captained by Nick McCarthy of St. Michael’s College.

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS Team & Replacements (v France Under-18s, FIRA/AER Under-18 European Championship Semi-Final, Chambery, Tuesday, March 26, kick-off 7pm local time/6pm Irish time):

15. Billy Dardis (Terenure College)
14. Jack Owens (Campbell College)
13. Fergal Cleary (Clongowes Wood College)
12. Harrison Brewer (Terenure College)
11. Greg O’Shea (Crescent Comprehensive)
10. Ross Byrne (St. Michael’s College)
9. Nick McCarthy (St. Michael’s College) (capt)
1. Michael Lagan (Methodist College)
2. Sean McNulty (Rockwell College)
3. Oisin Heffernan (CC Roscrea)
4. David O’Connor (Blackrock College)
5. James Ryan (St. Michael’s College)
6. Josh Murphy (St. Michael’s College)
7. Rory Moloney (CC Roscrea)
8. Nick Timoney (Blackrock College)


16. Jeremy Loughman (Blackrock College)
17. Andrew Roche (Terenure College)
18. Oliver Jager (Blackrock College)
19. Alexander Thompson (Methodist College)
20. James Gallagher (Methodist College)
21. Patrick Thornton (Terenure College)
22. Ciaran Gaffney (CC Roscrea)
23. Matthew Gilsenan (St. Michael’s College)
24. Michael Courtney (CBC Monkstown)
25. Cormac Brennan (CC Roscrea)
26. Charlie Rock (Blackrock College)