Jump to main content


O2 Ireland Wolfhounds Team Named

O2 Ireland Wolfhounds Team Named

James Coughlan will lead the O2 Ireland Wolfounds against England Saxons as international rugby comes to the Sportsground in Galway on Friday night (kick-off 7.35pm).

Ireland head coach Declan Kidney has named eight uncapped players in the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds starting line-up, including team captain James Coughlan.

Ulster duo Paddy Jackson and Paul Marshall form the half-back partnership and are joined in the back-line by Connacht favourites Robbie Henshaw and David McSharry.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front Mike Sherry packs down between the recently capped David Kilcoyne and Michael Bent, while Lewis Stevenson will combine with Devin Toner in the second row.

Kevin McLaughlin and the uncapped Tommy O’Donnell complete the back row with Munster ace Coughlan.

Tickets for the game are available from Ticketmaster and from the Connacht Branch offices available up to 4pm on Friday and then from 4pm at the ticket booth at the Main Stand gate of the stadium.

Tickets start at 20 euro for adults and five euro for children.

O2 IRELAND WOLFHOUNDS Team & Replacements (v England Saxons, ‘A’ International Match, the Sportsground, Friday, January 25, kick-off 7.35pm):

Club/Province/International Caps –

15 – Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) *
14 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster/49)
13 – Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster/3)
12 – David McSharry (UCD/Connacht) *
11 – Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster/23)
10 – Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) *
9 – Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
1 – David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster/2)
2 – Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster) *
3 – Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster/2)
4 – Lewis Stevenson (Malone/Ulster) *
5 – Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster/3)
6 – Kevin McLaughlin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster/5)
7 – Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
8 – James Coughlan (Dolphin/Munster) * (capt)


16 – Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster/2)
17 – Tom Court (Malone/Ulster/29)
18 – Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon/Ulster/2)
19 – Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster/2)
20 – Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster/1)
21 – Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster/15)
22 – Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
23 – Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster/2)

* Denotes uncapped player