Jump to main content


Hanrahan Set For First Munster Start

Hanrahan Set For First Munster Start

Five days after making his Heineken Cup debut off the bench against Edinburgh, JJ Hanrahan will return to Thomond Park to make his first senior start for Munster when they host Zebre on Friday night (kick-off 7.45pm).

JJ Hanrahan has been named at inside centre, partnering New Zealander Casey Laulala in a Munster starting line-up that shows nine changes to the one that started last Sunday.

One of those changes is positional, Donnacha Ryan moving from blindside flanker to lock in place of Paul O’Connell, while five others, including the 20-year-old Hanrahan, were involved as replacements in the bonus point win over Edinburgh.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

This time around, the fit-again Felix Jones starts ahead of Denis Hurley at full-back and Duncan Williams takes over from Conor Murray at scrum half.

In the pack, Stephen Archer is in ahead of BJ Botha in the front row and Paddy Butler now wears the number 8 jersey with Peter O’Mahony, who anchored the scrum the last day, operating at openside for the visit of the Italians.

Munster v Zebre tickets are available to buy online here. You can also purchase them from the ticket offices at Thomond Park and Musgrave Park or by calling 061-421103 or 021-4315767.

A special terrace family pack for two adults and four kids is available for €;40.

MUNSTER (v Zebre): Felix Jones; Luke O’Dea, Casey Laulala, JJ Hanrahan, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; David Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Donncha O’Callaghan, Donncha Ryan, David O’Callaghan, Peter O’Mahony, Paddy Butler.

Replacements: Damien Varley, Marcus Horan, BJ Botha, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Conor Murray, Johne Murphy, Denis Hurley.