Jump to main content


Munster Building New-Look Squad For 2012/13 Season

Munster Building New-Look Squad For 2012/13 Season

Munster’s 2012/13 squad is gradually coming together. The vast majority of the province’s players were present for Wednesday’s session at the University of Limerick, the only ones missing being those who played for the Ireland senior and Under-20 teams in recent weeks.

All the newcomers, with the exception of CJ Stander, were in attendance as were Damien Varley, Niall Ronan, Ian Nagle, Johne Murphy, Felix Jones and Paul O’Connell although their activity was confined to the gym as they each recover from injury, while BJ Botha is not due to rejoin the the squad until next week.

Stander, who is expected over once his involvement in the Currie Cup with the Blus Bulls is complete, will be in Super 15 action for the Bulls against the Cheetahs at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

However, after ten straight starts, he makes way for Jacques Potgeiter who made his Springbok debut last weekend against England.

MUNSTER 2012/13 SQUAD (47 Players):

Props: BJ Botha, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Stephen Archer, Marcus Horan, Wian du Preez, Christy Condon, Alan Cotter.

Hookers: Damien Varley, Mike Sherry, Sean Henry.

Locks: Donnacha Ryan, Paul O’Connell, Donncha O’Callaghan, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley.

Back rowers: Paddy Butler, Sean Dougall, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan, Tommy O’Donnell, Dave O’Callaghan, CJ Stander, Barry O’Mahony.

Half-backs: Peter Stringer, Conor Murray, Duncan Williams, Cathal Sheridan, Ronan O’Gara, Ian Keatley.

Centres/Wingers: Casey Laulala, James Downey, Danny Barnes, Scott Deasy, JJ Hanrahan, Troy Smith, Ivan Dineen, Keith Earls, Doug Howlett, Simon Zebo, Johne Murphy.

Full-backs: Felix Jones, Denis Hurley, Sean Scanlon, Luke O’Dea.