Jump to main content


Leinster Announce Academy Players For Next Season

Leinster Announce Academy Players For Next Season

The Leinster Academy list for the 2012/13 season has been announced. In all, there will be 24 players in the province’s Academy next year.

Sixteen players have been retained while eight new players, amongst them Clongowes Wood College front row duo brothers Brian and Edward Byrne as well as St. Michael’s College Senior Cup-winning captain Dan Leavy, will begin the three-year Academy programme later this summer.

The Leinster Academy programme is set out over three years where all of the players will aim to ultimately earn a professional contract.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Past graduates from the Leinster Academy system include recent Ireland internationals Fergus McFadden, Kevin McLaughlin, Sean O’Brien, Rhys Ruddock, Jonathan Sexton and Devin Toner.

In addition to each Academy player’s third level commitments, the players will complete a supplementary HETAC (Higher Education & Training Awards Council) course.

Overseen by Academy Manager Colin McEntee, the HETAC programme encompasses a three-year supplementary course in modules such as Rugby Technical, Tactical, Generic, Fitness, Lifestyle, Media and Psychological skills supplementary to their third level commitments.

The entire Academy panel will also fulfil several hours of active community service in hospitals, community centres and special schools across the province over the season which will help develop the players’ core values in a practical sense, thus developing their real life skills.


Edward Byrne (Loosehead prop) 1
Brian Byrne (Hooker) 1
Gavin Thornbury (Second row) 1
Tadhg Beirne (Second row) 1
Dan Leavy (Flanker) 1
Josh van der Flier (Openside flanker) 1
Jack Conan (Number 8) 1
Cathal Marsh (Out-half) 1
James Tracey (Loosehead prop) 2
Tadhg Furlong (Tighthead prop) 2
Martin Moore (Tighthead prop) 2
David Doyle (Hooker) 2
Conor Gilsenan (Openside flanker) 2
Jordan Coughlan (Back rower) 2
Luke McGrath (Scrum half) 2
Collie O’Shea (Centre) 2
Michael Sherlock (Full-back) 2
Andrew Boyle (Winger) 2
Jack O’Connell (Loosehead prop) 3
Jordi Murphy (Back rower) 3
Ben Marshall (Second row) 3
Noel Reid (Out-half/Centre) 3
Darren Hudson (Winger) 3
Sam Coghlan Murray (Winger) 3