Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland U-20 Team Named For Pool Opener

Ireland U-20 Team Named For Pool Opener

The Ireland Under-20 team, sponsored by PwC, has been named for the opening game of the 2012 IRB Junior World Championship at Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch (kick-off 6.45pm local time/5.45pm Irish time).

Hooker Niall Scannell will captain the side for the opening game against host country South Africa. JJ Hanrahan has been named at out-half and will act as vice captain.

Hanrahan is one of five players in the matchday squad who featured in the 2011 Junior World Championship. His half-back partner Kieran Marmion also played in the tournament.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Prop Tadhg Furlong and second row Iain Henderson are the two forwards with previous experience in the tournament, while replacement Aaron Conneely also featured last year in Italy.

Shane Layden and Paddy Jackson, who were named in the original squad, have been replaced by Conor Finn and Jack Carty with the latter included on the bench for the Pool B opener.

Monday’s clash in Stellenbosch will be shown live on TG4 and Sky Sports 2.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v South Africa Under-20s, IRB Junior World Championship Pool B, Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch, Monday, June 4, 6.45pm local time/5.45pm Irish time):

15. Peter Nelson (Dungannon/Ulster)
14. Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
13. Chris Farrell (Dungannon/Ulster)
12. Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11. Sam Coghlan Murray (UCD/Leinster)
10. JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
9. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) *
1. Des Merrey (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) (capt)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) *
4. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Leinster)
5. Iain Henderson (Queen’s University/Ulster) *
6. Jordan Coghlan (UCD/Leinster)
7. Conor Gilsenan (UCD/Mullingar/Leinster)
8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)


16. James Rael (Garryowen/Munster)
17. Peter Reilly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Jake Cawley (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Alan O’Connor (UCD/Leinster)
20. Aaron Conneely (Corinthians/Connacht) *
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht)
23. Mikey Sherlock (Clontarf/Leinster)



All kick-off times are local –

Monday, June 4: England v Italy, 4.45pm (University of Western Cape Stadium, Cape Town)
Monday, June 4: South Africa v Ireland, 6.45pm (Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch)
Friday, June 8: South Africa v Italy, 6.45pm (University of Western Cape Stadium, Cape Town)
Friday, June 8: England v Ireland, 6.45pm (Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch)
Tuesday, June 12: Ireland v Italy, 2.45pm (Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch)
Tuesday, June 12: South Africa v England, 6.45pm (Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch)

Related Links –

Ruddock: It’s A Great Chance For Players To Shine

Irish Rugby TV: Conor Gilsenan

Irish Rugby TV: Jack Conan

Irish Rugby TV: Luke McGrath