Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland U-18 And U-19 Teams Set For English Double Header

Ireland U-18 And U-19 Teams Set For English Double Header

The Ireland Under-18 Clubs and Ireland Under-19 teams have both been named for an away double header against England this weekend.

Both Ireland sides played a similar double header in Dublin before Easter against strong French selections and were just beaten in tight encounters.

The Ireland Under-18 Clubs team lost 19-13 despite outscoring the French two tries to one. There have been changes to the starting line-up from that game, with out-half Fergal Cleary swapping places with centre Sean O’Hagan in a new-look midfield.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the forwards Scott Flanagan starts at hooker in place of Paul O’Donnell who is injured, with Shane Byrne coming into the replacements as back up.

The Ireland Under-19 team streaked into a 15-0 lead in their last outing against the French Under-19s, but lost narrowly 24-15 in the end after a second half French rally.

There are also two changes to the starting line-up from that game, with Robbie Henshaw starting at outside centre in place of Tom Farrell, one of the try scorers last time out.

In the forwards Christopher Taylor starts at tighthead prop, with Jamie Dever moving to the replacements bench.

IRELAND UNDER-18 CLUBS Team & Replacements (v England Under-18 Clubs/Schools XV, Saturday, April 14, Old Merchant Taylors RFC, Middlesex, kick-off 12pm):

15 – Rueben Pepper-Hobbs (Westport/Connacht)
14 – Adrian Enright (Abbeyfeale/Munster)
13 – Adam Byrne (Naas/Leinster)
12 – Fergal Cleary (Navan/Leinster)
11 – Seamus Keating (Dungarvan/Munster)
10 – Sean O’Hagan (London Irish/St. Benedict’s/Exiles)
9 – Killian O’Keeffe (Crosshaven/Munster)
1 – Peter Dooley (Birr/Leinster)
2 – Scott Flanagan (Buccaneers/Connacht)
3 – Jacob Walshe (Ballinasloe/Connacht)
4 – Russell Blair (Ballymoney/Ulster)
5 – John Madigan (Charleville/Munster)
6 – Killian Sweeney (Malahide/Leinster)
7 – Joe Bercis (Rugby Lions/Exiles)
8 – Jack O’Donoghue (Waterpark/Munster) (capt)


16 – Brian Cunningham (Navan/Leinster)
17 – Stephen Dalton (Westcombe Park/Exiles)
18 – Shane Byrne (Wicklow/Leinster)
19 – Luke Connolly (Glamorgan Wanderers/Exiles)
20 – Frankie Taggart (Whitgift/Exiles)
21 – Caolin Blade (Monivea/Connacht)
22 – Jim White (Enniscorthy/Leinster)
23 – Eoghan O’Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Management Team:

Head Coach – Wayne Mitchell
Team Manager – Willie Gribben
Assistant Coach – Jimmy Duffy
Doctor – John Quinlan
Physiotherapist – David Hanly
Strength & Conditioning Coach – Joe McGinley
Video Analyst – Jim Herring
Kit/Logistics – Tom Nyhan
Squad Co-ordinator – Sinead Bennett

IRELAND UNDER-19 Team & Replacements (v England Under-19s, Saturday, April 14, London Irish RFC, Sunbury, kick-off 1pm):

15 – Darragh Leader (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
14 – Max McFarland (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
13 – Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
12 – Thomas Daly (Carlow RFC/Leinster)
11 – Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins RFC/Ulster)
10 – Steve Crosbie (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
9 – Dave Shanahan (Clontarf RFC/Leinster)
1 – Edward Byrne (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
2 – Bryan Byrne (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
3 – Christopher Taylor (Malone RFC/Ulster)
4 – Ultan Dillane (Tralee RFC/Munster)
5 – Gavin Thornbury (Blackrock College/Leinster)
6 – Conor Joyce (Malone RFC/Ulster) (capt)
7 – Josh van der Flier (UCD RFC/Leinster)
8 – Ryan Murphy (Dolphin RFC/Munster)


16 – John Andrew (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
17 – Niall Horan (Crescent College/Munster)
18 – Jamie Dever (Westport RFC/Connacht)
19 – Sean McCarthy (Rockwell College/Munster)
20 – Donagh Lawler (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
21 – Barry Digby (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
22 – Harry McNulty (Dublin University RFC/Munster)
23 – Eoghan Quinn (Castleknock College/Leinster)

Management Team:

Head Coach – Colin McEntee
Team Manager – Barney McGonigle
Assistant Coach – Nigel Carolan
Doctor – Tim O’Flanagan
Physiotherapist – Barry Smith
Strength & Conditioning Coach – Sami Dowling
Video Analyst – Vinny Hammond
Kit/Logisitcs – Colin Phillips
Squad Co-ordinator – Sinead Bennett