Jump to main content


Trinity And UL Bohs Claim Scandinavian Sevens Honours

Trinity And UL Bohs Claim Scandinavian Sevens Honours

The IRFU All-Ireland Club Sevens champions, Dublin University and UL Bohemians, both travelled to Copenhagen to compete at the Scandinavian Open Sevens tournament.

On a busy weekend of Sevens action, teams from a wide range of European countries all gathered to contest the various trophies up for grabs at the Scandinavian Open.

The Trinity men and UL Bohemians women both topped their groups as undefeated leaders, as they qualified for the play-offs on Sunday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the Men’s Cup group, Trinity continued their unbeaten run and impressive defensive record to reach the final against the Susie’s Exiles team from the Netherlands. In a tight match, it was the All-Ireland Club Sevens winners who came out on top 31-21. 

UL Bohs proved too strong both in the Women’s pool stages – not even yielding a score – and subsequently the play-offs.

They coasted through to the Cup Final against the Dutch team, Susie’s Valkyries. A 43-0 victory exemplified the strength and talent of this Limerick side.  

Both teams qualified to travel for this tournament following their victories in the inaugural IRFU Club Sevens tournaments held earlier this year.

The winning Junior Men’s team, Coolmine, will be VIP guests at the Ireland v England GUINNESS Summer Series game later this month. They will also attend both pre-match and post-match functions.

Bra gjort alle sammen!

Click here to view our photo galleries from the Scandinavian Open Sevens.

Groups competing were as follows:


Pool A
RAF Spitfires (UK)
Clamart Rugby 92 (France)
Malmø RK (Sweden)
Exiles RUFC (Denmark)

Pool B
RK Speed (Denmark)
TabuSoro (Fiji/Netherlands)
RK Oslo (Norway)
Borås RK (Sweden)
CBS Sport Rugby (Denmark)

Pool C
Honeybunn 7s (UK)
RFC Livonia (Latvia)
CSR/Nanok (Denmark)
Hundestad RK (Denmark)
Reykjavik Raiders (Iceland)

Pool D
Vikings (Denmark)
UTM Rugby (Moldova)
Frederiksberg (Denmark)
RK Speed 2 (Denmark)
RK Frederikstad (Norway)

Pool E
Dublin University (Ireland)
Susie’s Exiles (Netherlands)
Erritsøe (Denmark)
Alibaa-baas (Denmark)
Wexiø (Sweden)


Pool WA
Susie’s Valkyries (Netherlands)
Vikings (Denmark)
Norwegian Vikingettes (Norway)
RK Oslo (Norway)
Exiles RUFC (Denmark)

Pool WB
RK Speed (Denmark)
UL Bohemians (Ireland)
UTM-Rugby (Moldova)
Oompa-Loompa (France)
CBS Sport (Denmark)
Malmø RK (Sweden)