Jump to main content


PWC logo

Murphy To Captain Ireland Under-20s

Murphy To Captain Ireland Under-20s

The Ireland Under-20 team, sponsored by PwC, has been named for the final game of the RBS 6 Nations Championship against England at Dubarry Park (kick-off 7.45pm).

Head coach Mike Ruddock has made four changes to the side that drew dramatically with Wales last weekend.

Connacht’s Tiernan O’Halloran returns to the starting line-up, joining Michael Sherlock and Andrew Boyle in an exciting back-three.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

JJ Hanrahan starts at inside centre in place of Luke Marshall, while Cathal Marsh comes in at out-half for Paddy Jackson.

Jackson, Marshall and winger Craig Gilroy, who scored a superb try against Wales, have been called up to the Ulster squad.

Up front, David Doyle, Ireland’s late try scorer in Llanelli, comes in at hooker for injured captain Niall Annett. He will pack down between James Tracy and Martin Moore.

Number 8 Jordi Murphy, who is in his second year at this level, will captain the team in the absence of Annett.

Tickets for the game, priced at €;18 (stand), €;15 (ground/terrace) and €;5 (students/OAPs), are available to purchase from the Buccaneers office at Dubarry Park (during normal office hours) or The Bounty any night.

National school children accompanied by a paying adult will be admitted free, provided they have the special discount voucher issued through the local national schools.

A limited number of pre-match tables are available, costing €;500 per table of eight persons. This covers three-course meal, complementary wine, reserved seat in the stand and souvenir match programme. Contact Geraldine for full details or booking at 0861732711.

The game in Athlone will also be broadcast live on RTÉ Two, with commentary by Gary Moran and Donal Lenihan.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v England Under-20s, 2011 RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship, Dubarry Park, Athlone, Friday, March 18, kick-off 7.45pm):

15 – Michael Sherlock (Clontarf/Leinster)
14 – Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht)
13 – Alex Kelly (UCD/Leinster)
12 – JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster)
11 – Andrew Boyle (UCD/Leinster)
10 – Cathal Marsh (Dublin University/Leinster)
9 – Blane McIlroy (Ballymena/Ulster)
1 – James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)
2 – David Doyle (UCD/Leinster)
3 – Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)
4 – Michael Kearney (Clontarf/Leinster)
5 – Daniel Qualter (Buccaneers/Connacht)
6 – Shane Buckley (Garryowen/Munster)
7 – Aaron Conneely (Corinthians/Connacht)
8 – Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) (capt)


16 – James Rael (Garryowen/Munster)
17 – Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
18 – Cathal O’Flaherty (Cork Constitution/Munster)
19 – Stephen Lecky (Glasgow Hawks/Exiles)
20 – Mark Dolan (Corinthians/Connacht)
21 – Gareth Quinn McDonogh (Shannon/Munster)
22 – Colm O’Shea (Clontarf/Leinster)