Jump to main content


Connacht Awards Double For Carr

Connacht Awards Double For Carr

Fionn Carr achieved a notable double over the weekend when he was announced as Connacht Rugby’s Professional Player of the Year and the Connacht Rugby Supporters Club’s Player of the Year.

The Connacht Rugby Awards were held at the Ardilaun Hotel in Galway on Saturday, and the evening, a celebration of a memorable year for the game in the west, was a huge success.

Top try-scoring winger Fionn Carr was voted the Professional Player of the Year, following on from his nod as the Connacht Supporters Club Player of the Year.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 24-year-old has been in great form in recent months, with his impressive haul of tries including a brace against Leinster at the RDS.

Second row Michael Swift, Connacht’s most-capped player, received the Players’ Player of the Year award. His try in the recent home win over Leinster was right up there with the best scores ever witnessed at the Sportsground.

The evening culminated in the induction of former Ireland number 8 Noel Mannion into the Connacht Rugby Hall of Fame.

Connacht Rugby Awards

The event also acknowledged the contribution that departing head coach Michael Bradley had made to Connacht Rugby and he was presented with awards from Connacht Branch President Steven Cunningham and the players themselves.

Prop Jamie Hagan was honoured for a promising first season with Connacht, winning the Professional Young Player of the Year and the Players’ Young Player of the Year awards.

Back rower Eoin McKeon, a recent Magners League debutant, was acknowledged as the Connacht Academy Player of the Year, while Ireland internationals Eoin Griffin, Tiernan O’Halloran, Daniel Qualter, Callum Boland and Carol Staunton walked off with the underage and Women’s awards.

Corrib, Corinthians, Tuam and Creggs took the club honours on the night, with Creggs club stalwart Adrian Leddy hailed for his contribution to Connacht junior rugby and the ongoing development of the game in the province.


Connacht Academy Player of the Year: Eoin McKeon
Connacht Under-20 Player of the Year: Eoin Griffin
Connacht Under-19 Player of the Year: Tiernan O’Halloran
Connacht Under-18 Schools Player of the Year: Daniel Qualter
Connacht Under-18 Youth Player of the Year: Callum Boland
Women’s Player of the Year: Carol Staunton (Bristol RFC)
Junior Club Player of the Year: Martin Lee (Corrib RFC)
Senior Club Player of the Year: Pat Cunningham (Corinthians RFC)
Referee of the Year: Paul Jennings
Referees’ Club of the Year: Tuam RFC
Club Person of the Year: Adrian Leddy (Creggs RFC)
Players’ Player of the Year: Michael Swift
Players’ Young Player of the Year: Jamie Hagan
Professional Player of the Year: Fionn Carr
Professional Young Player of the Year: Jamie Hagan