Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland U-20 Squad Announced For Junior World Championship

Ireland U-20 Squad Announced For Junior World Championship

The Ireland Under-20 squad, sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers, for the forthcoming IRB Junior World Championship in Argentina has been named by coach Allen Clarke.

The Ireland Under-20s will travel to Argentina as the reigning RBS U-20 6 Nations champions having won the title last month.

They will face familiar and formidable opposition at the IRB Junior World Championship in Argentina when they open their campaign with a match against France, the only side to beat them in this year’s Six Nations.

They follow this up, four days later, with a game against England, whom they beat 25-10 in the recent Championship. Ireland’s final Pool B match sees them take on host side Argentina on June 13.

Ireland U-20 head coach Allen Clarke has selected his 26-man squad for the Junior World Championship, though he has left one space to be filled.

The bulk of the Six Nations-winning squad is included with the likes of team captain Rhys Ruddock, strong-running centre Nevin Spence and full-back Andrew Conway among a host of familiar names.

Ruddock (pictured), who will start alongside his brother Ciaran for Leinster on Friday in the Magners League, is one of a number of players who have made appearances for their provinces this season.

Conway will also start for Leinster in their clash with Connacht this week. Cork Constitution’s Simon Zebo featured for Munster last weekend as did Spence with Ulster, while Tiernan O’Halloran lined out for Connacht earlier in the season.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Squad (IRB Junior World Championship, Argentina, Saturday, June 5 – Monday, June 21):

Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Denis Buckley (Corinthians/Connacht)
Patrick Butler (Shannon/Munster)
Bryan Cagney (UCC/Munster)
Andrew Conway (Blackrock/Leinster)
John Cooney (UCD/Leinster)
David Doyle (UCD/Leinster)
Eoin Griffin (Corinthians/Connacht)
Brian Hayes (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Michael Heaney (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Darren Hudson (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Brendan Macken (Blackrock/Leinster)
Stewart Maguire (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Ben Marshall (UCD/Leinster)
James McKinney (Queen’s University/Ulster)
Jordi Murphy (Blackrock/Leinster)
Robin O’Sullivan (Bective Rangers/Leinster)
David O’Callaghan (UCC/Munster)
Jack O’Connell (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht)
Noel Reid (UCD/Leinster)
Rhys Ruddock (UCD/Leinster)
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)
AN Other


Pool B – Estadio El Coloso del Parque, Rosario

Saturday, June 5:

France v Ireland, 2pm; Argentina v England, 4pm

Wednesday, June 9:

England v Ireland, 2pm; Argentina v France, 4pm

Sunday, June 13:

England v France, 2pm; Argentina v Ireland, 4pm

Related Links –

IRB Junior World Championship Website