Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-19 Team Named For France Clash

Ireland Under-19 Team Named For France Clash

The Ireland Under-19 team and replacements, sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers, for Tuesday’s international encounter with the France Under-19s at Donnybrook (kick-off 5.30pm) has been named.

Allen Clarke’s Ireland Under-19 selection to face France includes 18 players who earned game-time in December’s impressive 15-0 victory over Australia at Cork IT.

The five newcomers are Craig Gilroy, Nat McDonald, Andrew Boyle, Conor McDermott and Michael McAuley.

The pacy Gilroy, who has impressed with Dungannon in this season’s AIB League, comes in on the right wing, with Ballymena’s Luke Marshall shifting to full-back and McDonald forming a centre partnership with fellow Exile Corey Hircock (pictured).

Boyle will start on the left wing, with his fellow UCD clubman Peter Du Toit and Shannon’s Gareth Quinn McDonogh combining at half-back.

Quinn McDonogh was part of the Ireland Under-20 squad that secured the Six Nations title recently, along with pack duo David Doyle and Jordi Murphy.

Tuesday will see Murphy skipper the Under-19s from the openside flanker position, behind an unchanged front five which features James Tracy, Doyle and Martin Moore in the front row.

Glasgow Hawks’ Stephen Leckey has been given the nod at blindside flanker.

The squad is coached by IRFU High Performance Manager Allen Clarke, who guided the Under-20s to Championship glory already this year. Jonny Bell and Colin McEntee have assistant coach roles, with Barney McGonigle on managerial duty.

IRELAND UNDER-19 TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v France Under-19s, U-19 International Match, Donnybrook, Tuesday, April 13, kick-off 5.30pm):

15 – Luke Marshall (Ballymena RFC)
14 – Craig Gilroy (Dungannon RFC)
13 – Corey Hircock (Bedford Blues RFC/Exiles)
12 – Nat McDonald (Worcester RFC/Exiles)
11 – Andrew Boyle (University College Dublin RFC)
10 – Gareth Quinn McDonogh (Shannon RFC)
9 – Peter Du Toit (University College Dublin RFC)
1 – James Tracy (Newbridge College)
2 – David Doyle (University College Dublin RFC)
3 – Martin Moore (Lansdowne FC)
4 – Simon Hanbidge (Christian Brothers College, Cork)
5 – David O’Mahony (Presentation Brothers College, Cork)
6 – Stephen Leckey (Glasgow Hawks RFC/Exiles)
7 – Jordi Murphy (Blackrock College RFC) (capt) 
8 – Eoin McKeon (Galwegians RFC/NUIG RFC)


16 – Louis Padian (Moseley RFC/Exiles)
17 – Paul Mullen (The King’s Hospital)
18 – Kevin O’Byrne (University College Cork RFC)
19 – Conor McDermott (Dublin University FC)
20 – Dominic Gallagher (Dublin University FC)
21 – Mark Dolan (Corinthians RFC/NUIG RFC)
22 – Alex Kelly (St. Michael’s College)
23 – Michael McAuley (Royal Belfast Academical Institution)

Team Management:

Coach – Allen Clarke (High Performance Manager, IRFU)
Assistant Coach – Jonny Bell (Ulster)
Assistant Coach – Colin McEntee (Leinster)
Physio – Emma Gallivan (IRFU)
Fitness Advisor – Paudie Roche (Munster)
Kit Manager – Ian Fleming (Munster)
Manager – Barney McGonigle (Ulster)