Jump to main content


Promotion Joy For Young Munster

Promotion Joy For Young Munster

Young Munster gained their tenth and most important win of the AIB League season as they secured promotion to Division 1A for next year.

AIB LEAGUE: DIVISION 1B: Saturday, March 6

UCC 12 YOUNG MUNSTER 14, The Mardyke

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: UCC: Tries: Andrew Burke, Willie Walsh; Con: Andrew Burke
Young Munster: Try: Darragh Payne; Pens: Alan Kingsley 3

Young Munster ran out 14-12 winners over UCC at the Mardyke, despite College outscoring the visitors by two tries to one with efforts from centre Andrew Burke and winger Willie Walsh.

But once again, out-half Alan Kingsley has the most telling contribution for Young Munster. His nine-point tally, from three penalty goals, took his haul for the league campaign to 101 points.

The Limerick side led 6-5 at half-time and a timely try from lock Darragh Payne, scored off a rolling maul from a lineout, gave the Cookies some added encouragement.

Back rowers James O’Neill and Neville Melbourne were the standout players in the visitors’ pack.

UCC, whose promotion hopes hinged on winning today, kept plugging away right until the final whistle and their efforts were typified by team captain Ivan Dineen who caused the visitors plenty of problems in midfield.

Young Munster and Old Belvedere, who remain top of the table by two points, both secured promotion on Saturday and have been far and away the best two teams in Division 1B this season.

They will fight it out over the remaining weeks to decide who joins Division 1A’s top three sides in the league semi-finals, with Munsters hoping to extend their current winning streak to ten matches when they host Galwegians at Tom Clifford Park on March 27.

For UCC, who are 12 points behind second-placed Munsters, promotion is out of their reach and they will only have pride to play for in their final games against Buccaneers (away) and Old Belvedere (home).

UCC: Sean Scanlon; Brian Derham, Andrew Burke, Ivan Dineen (capt), Willie Walsh; Ronan O’Sullivan, Brian Slater; Gavin Duffy, Andrew Cudmore, John Ryan, Mike Lenihan, Phillie Donnellan, Rob Barry, Shane O’Sullivan, James Ryan.

Replacements: Wayne Falvey, Will O’Donovan, Brian O’Callaghan, Eoghan Kennedy, Colin Crowley.

YOUNG MUNSTER: Matthew Costelloe; Cian Clohessy, Derek Corcoran, Clem Casey, Danny Grace; Alan Kingsley, Mike Prendergast; Ger Flaherty, Ger Slattery (capt), Alan Cotter, Shane O’Neill, Darragh Payne, Liam Og Murphy, James O’Neill, Neville Melbourne.

Replacements: Ger Burke, Donal Murphy, Ken Hanley, Brendan Guilfoyle, Ian Cross.

Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (IRFU)