Jump to main content


Munster Maintain Winning Run Against Neath

Munster Maintain Winning Run Against Neath

Second half tries from skipper Peter O’Mahony and centre Tom Gleeson saw Munster came from twelve points down at the interval to run out 21-12 winners of Saturday’s British & Irish Cup encounter with Neath at the Gnoll.

BRITISH & IRISH CUP – POOL B: Saturday, February 27

NEATH 12 MUNSTER 21, The Gnoll

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Neath: Pens: Arwel Thomas 4
Munster: Tries: Peter O’Mahony, Tom Gleeson; Con: Declan Cusack; Pens: Declan Cusack 3

Munster were forced to rejig their starting side this morning when sickness forced Dave Foley to withdraw. The big second row was replaced by Ed Kelly with Billy Holland coming onto the replacements bench.

The province trailed 12-0 at half-time, with four Arwel Thomas penalties edging Neath ahead.

But Munster, the Pool B leaders, produced a sparkling second half performance for a victory that keeps them in pole position to qualify for the semi-finals.

Out-half Declan Cusack coverted Peter O’Mahony’s try and added three further penalties in a Munster-dominated second period.

Speaking afterwards, Munster coach Anthony Foley explained that there were tough questions asked in the visitors’ dressing room at half-time after they fell 12-0 behind.

“We came off second best in every position in the first half and things weren’t going our way,” he said.

“So there were some home truths at half-time. We asked the players some questions about the standards within this team and what is expected when they pull on the red jersey.”

NEATH: Kevin Morgan; Kevin James, Stephen Thomas, Nathan Brew, Alec Jenkins; Arwel Thomas (capt), Kevin Farrell; Nicky Downs, Ashleigh James, Martin Jones, Euros Evans, Neil Edwards, Michael Collins, Lee Evans, Gareth Gravell.

Replacements used: Craig Price for Collins (62 mins), Gerwyn Price for A James (65), Gareth McCarthy for A Thomas (69), Tom James for Farrell, Emyr Lewis for Downs (both 78). Not used: Peter Sidoli, Wayne Mitchell.

MUNSTER: Danny Riordan; Danny Barnes, Tom Gleeson, Scott Deasy, Ciaran O’Boyle; Declan Cusack, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Sean Henry, Stephen Archer, Ed Kelly, Ian Nagle, Shane Hassett, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Nick Williams.

Replacements used: Billy Holland for Hassett (half-time), Neville Melbourne for Nagle (56-58 mins, blood sub), Jeremy Manning for Gleeson (59), Neville Melbourne for P O’Mahony (72), Conor Murray for Williams (76), Ger Slattery for Henry (78). Not used: Pa O’Regan, Ronan O’Mahony.

Referee: Llyr Apgeraint Roberts (England)