Jump to main content



Head-To-Head: Ireland v England

Head-To-Head: Ireland v England

See below for a statistical preview of Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations match between Ireland and England at Twickenham (kick-off 4pm).

2010 RBS 6 NATIONS CHAMPIONSHIP: Saturday, February 27

ENGLAND v IRELAND, Twickenham, 4pm (live RTÉ Two/BBC One)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

ENGLAND: Delon Armitage (London Irish); Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks), Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks), Riki Flutey (Brive), Ugo Monye (Harlequins); Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon), Danny Care (Harlequins); Tim Payne (London Wasps), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Simon Shaw (London Wasps), Steve Borthwick (Saracens) (capt), James Haskell (Stade Francais), Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers), Nick Easter (Harlequins).

Replacements: Lee Mears (Bath), David Wilson (Bath), Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers), Joe Worsley (London Wasps), Paul Hodgson (London Irish), Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers), Ben Foden (Northampton Saints).

IRELAND: Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers); Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) (capt), Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster); Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster); Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster), John Hayes (Bruff/Munster), Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster), Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster), Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster), David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster), Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster).

Replacements: Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht), Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster), Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster), Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster), Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster), Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster).

Referee: Mark Lawrence (South Africa) 
Assistant Referees: Christophe Berdos (France), David Changleng (Scotland)
Television Match Official: Carlo Damasco (Italy)


Played – 122 
England Won – 70
Ireland Won – 44
Drawn – 8 (last in 1968) 

Biggest Wins: 

England: Points: 50-18, 2000 Six Nations; Margin: 46-6, 1997 Five Nations

Ireland: Points & Margin: 43-13, 2007 Six Nations

Individual Records In The Series:

Most Points In A Match: England 23 (Paul Grayson 1996); Ireland 21 (Ollie Campbell 1983, Ronan O’Gara 2007)

Most Tries In A Match: England 3 (Henry Taylor 1881, Chris Oti 1988); Ireland 2 (by 12 players – last by Shane Horgan 2006)

Ireland v England In The Six Nations: 

2000 England won 50-18, Twickenham
2001 Ireland won 20-14, Lansdowne Road
2002 England won 45-11, Twickenham
2003 England won 42-6, Lansdowne Road
2004 Ireland won 19-13, Twickenham
2005 Ireland won 19-13, Lansdowne Road
2006 Ireland won 28-24, Twickenham
2007 Ireland won 43-13, Croke Park
2008 England won 33-10, Twickenham
2009 Ireland won 14-13, Croke Park

International Championship All-Time Records:

Points –
520 Ronan O’Gara (Ireland) 
506 Jonny Wilkinson (England)
406 Neil Jenkins (Wales) 
405 Stephen Jones (Wales)
372 Chris Paterson (Scotland)
297 Gavin Hastings (Scotland)
270 David Humphreys (Ireland)

Tries –
24 Ian Smith (Scotland)
21 Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)
18 Shane Williams (Wales)
18 Cyril Lowe (England)
18 Rory Underwood (England)
18 Gareth Edwards (Wales) 

England – Form Guide From Start Of The 2009 Six Nations: 

Won 36-11 v Italy home (6N) 
Lost 23-15 v Wales away (6N) 
Lost 14-13 v Ireland away (6N) 
Won 34-10 v France home (6N)
Won 26-12 v Scotland home (6N)
Won 37-12 v Argentina home (Summer Series)
Lost 24-22 v Argentina away (Summer Series) 
Lost 18-9 v Australia home (Autumn Series)
Won 16-9 v Argentina home (Autumn Series)
Lost 19-6 v New Zealand home (Autumn Series)
Won 30-17 v Wales home (6N)
Won 17-12 v Italy away (6N)

Ireland – Form Guide From Start Of The 2009 Six Nations:

Won 30-21 v France home (6N)
Won 38-9 v Italy away (6N)
Won 14-13 v England home (6N)
Won 22-15 v Scotland away (6N)
Won 17-15 v Wales away (6N)
Won 25-6 v Canada away (Summer Tour)
Won 27-10 v USA away (Summer Tour)
Drew 20-20 v Australia home (Autumn Series)
Won 41-6 v Fiji home (Autumn Series)
Won 15-10 v South Africa home (Autumn Series)
Won 29-11 v Italy home (6N)
Lost 33-10 v France away (6N)

England – Most-Capped Players: 

114 Jason Leonard
85 Rory Underwood
85 Lawrence Dallaglio
84 Martin Johnson
77 Matt Dawson
75 Jonny Wilkinson
75 Mike Catt
74 Joe Worsley
73 Phil Vickery
72 Will Carling
71 Richard Hill
71 Rob Andrew 

England – All-Time Leading Points Scorers: 

1085 Jonny Wilkinson
400 Paul Grayson
396 Rob Andrew
296 Jon Webb
259 Charlie Hodgson
240 Dusty Hare
210 Rory Underwood (including four-point tries)
203 Simon Hodgkinson

England – All-Time Leading Try Scorers: 

49 Rory Underwood
31 Ben Cohen
31 Will Greenwood
30 Jeremy Guscott
28 Jason Robinson
24 Dan Luger
22 Josh Lewsey
18 Cyril Lowe
17 Lawrence Dallaglio
16 Matt Dawson
16 Neil Back
15 Austin Healey
15 Mark Cueto
13 Tony Underwood
13 Mike Tindall
13 Iain Balshaw

Ireland – Most-Capped Players: 

99 John Hayes
98 Brian O’Driscoll
95 Ronan O’Gara
92 Malcolm O’Kelly
91 Peter Stringer
82 Girvan Dempsey
72 David Humphreys
70 Kevin Maggs
69 Mike Gibson
67 Paul O’Connell
66 Marcus Horan
65 Shane Horgan
65 Simon Easterby
63 Geordan Murphy
63 Willie John McBride

Ireland – All-Time Leading Points Scorers: 

950 Ronan O’Gara
560 David Humphreys
308 Michael Kiernan
296 Eric Elwood
217 Ollie Campbell
205 Brian O’Driscoll

Ireland – All-Time Leading Try Scorers: 

38 Brian O’Driscoll
29 Denis Hickie
21 Shane Horgan
19 Girvan Dempsey
18 Geordan Murphy
17 Brendan Mullin
15 Keith Wood
15 Kevin Maggs
14 George Stephenson
14 Ronan O’Gara
12 Keith Crossan
12 David Wallace
11 Tommy Bowe
11 Simon Geoghegan
11 Alan Duggan

World Rugby All-Time Top Points Scorers:

1152 Jonny Wilkinson (1085-England, 67-Lions)
1090 Neil Jenkins (1049-Wales, 41-Lions)
1010 Diego Dominguez (27-Argentina, 983-Italy)
994 Dan Carter (New Zealand)
967 Andrew Mehrtens (New Zealand)
950 Ronan O’Gara (Ireland)
911 Michael Lynagh (Australia)
893 Percy Montgomery (South Africa)
878 Matt Burke (Australia) 
807 Stephen Jones (754-Wales, 53-Lions)
752 Chris Paterson (Scotland)
733 Gavin Hastings (667-Scotland, 66-Lions)

World Rugby All-Time Top Try Scorers:

64 David Campese (Australia)
51 Shane Williams (49-Wales, 2-Lions)
50 Rory Underwood (49-England, 1-Lions)
49 Doug Howlett (New Zealand)
46 Christian Cullen (New Zealand)
45 Joe Rokocoko (New Zealand)
44 Jeff Wilson (New Zealand)
41 Gareth Thomas (40-Wales, 1-Lions)
40 Chris Latham (Australia)
39 Brian O’Driscoll (38-Ireland, 1-Lions)
(Note: Daisuke Ohata scored 69 tries for Japan, but not all against major international opposition)

The ‘100 Caps’ Club:

139 George Gregan (Australia)
119 Jason Leonard (114-England, 5-Lions)
118 Fabien Pelous (France)
111 Philippe Sella (France)
110 George Smith (Australia)
104 Brian O’Driscoll (98-Ireland, 6-Lions)
103 Gareth Thomas (100-Wales, 3-Lions)
102 Stephen Larkham (Australia)
102 Percy Montgomery (South Africa)
101 David Campese (Australia)
101 Alessandro Troncon (Italy)
101 John Hayes (99-Ireland, 2-Lions) 
100 Chris Paterson (Scotland)

98 Raphael Ibanez (France)
97 Ronan O’Gara (95-Ireland, 2-Lions)
97 Martyn Williams (93-Wales, 4-Lions)
96 Colin Charvis (94-Wales, 2-Lions)