Jump to main content


Newbridge RFC To Honour Ireland’s 1985 Triple Crown Side

Newbridge RFC To Honour Ireland’s 1985 Triple Crown Side

Newbridge RFC will honoured Ireland’s 1985 Triple Crown-winning squad at their now annual Legend in Rugby Awards Dinner next month.

Since 2003, the Newbridge RFC Legend in Rugby Awards Dinner has grown to be an exciting event in the Irish rugby calendar.

This year the Kildare club are celebrating the 25th anniversary of Ireland’s historic Triple Crown win in 1985.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Memories of Ciaran Fitzgerald’s rallying cry to the troops in the dying minutes of the Triple Crown decider against England, ‘Come on lads, where’s your ****in’ pride?, and Michael Kiernan’s last-minute drop goal to beat England at Lansdowne Road come flooding back.

To relive these memories, join us for what promises to be a great rugby night on Friday, March 19 at 7pm.

The venue is Hotel Keadeen, Newbridge, County Kildare, dress is black tie and tickets cost €;100 each or €;1,000 for a table of 12.

Niall Browne.                                             
Phone: 0872555895
Email: niall@cjbrowne.ie

Newbridge RFC Legend in Rugby Award Winners:      

2003 – Dr. Karl D. Mullen
2004 – Dr Jack W. Kyle OBE
2005 – Ireland Team (1948 & 1949)             
2006 – British & Irish Lions Team (1955) 
2007 – Ireland Team (1982)
2008 – Munster Team (1978)
2009 – Not Awarded
2010 – Ireland Team (1985)