Jump to main content


Ireland Under-18 Schools Team To Play Italy

Ireland Under-18 Schools Team To Play Italy

The Ireland Under-18 Schools team to face Italy Under-18s in Saturday’s international clash at Donnybrook (kick-off 1pm) has been named.

Centre JJ Hanrahan, out-half Paddy Jackson and scrum half Luke McGrath, who all saw action for the Ireland Under-19 Schools against Australia last month, have been included in a strong Under-18 back-line for the visit of the Italians to Dublin.

Hooker Niall Scannell will start in the front row, having played as a replacement in the U-18 game against the Australians, while flanker Aaron Conneely will be back in the green jersey after impressing in the Ireland Under-19s’ recent 15-0 victory over Australia.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Replacements Rory Harrison and Ross Jones also started for the U-19 Schools side against Australia last month. 

Terry McMaster is coaching the Ireland Under-18 Schools squad alongside former internationals Kenny Hooks and Gabriel Fulcher, with Lorcan Balfe the team manager.

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Italy Under-18s, International Match, Donnybrook, Saturday, December 19, kick-off 1pm):

15 – Charlie Simpson (Ballymena Academy)
14 – Stephen MacAuley (Clongowes Wood College)
13 – Peter Nelson (Royal School Dungannon)
12 – JJ Hanrahan (Rockwell College)
11 – Sam Coghlan-Murray (Newbridge College)
10 – Paddy Jackson (Methodist College Belfast)
9 – Luke McGrath (St. Michael’s College)
1 – Des Merrey (King’s Hospital)
2 – Niall Scannell (PBC Cork)
3 – Peter Reilly (Castleknock College)
4 – Shane Buckley (Rockwell College)
5 – Yasin Browne (CBC Cork)
6 – Adam Clarkin (Terenure College)
7 – Aaron Conneely (Colaiste Iognaid)
8 – Daniel Qualter (Sligo Grammar School)


16 – James Rael (Castletroy Community College)
17 – Rory Harrison (Methodist College Belfast)
18 – Kyle McCall (Wallace High School)
19 – Eoghan Cross (Crescent Community College)
20 – Harry Doyle (Royal School Armagh)
21 – Ritchie McMaster (Coleraine Academical Institution)
22 – Ross Jones (Castleknock College)