Jump to main content


Leinster Announce Squad For Cup Final

Leinster Announce Squad For Cup Final

The Leinster squad to face Leicester Tigers in Saturday’s Heineken Cup final at Murrayfield (kick-off 5pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen, Rocky Elsom and Brian O’Driscoll return to the squad for Saturday’s final in Edinburgh and have been named alongside the likes of Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald, Jamie Heaslip, Shane Horgan and Isa Nacewa in a strong panel.

Rob Kearney is also included, after making his comeback from illness, as are the likes of Devin Toner, Simon Keogh, Ronan McCormack, Trevor Hogan, Sean O’Brien and Fergus McFadden who were all involved last weekend’s final Magners League game against the Dragons. 

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Meanwhile, the ‘Blue Province’ campaign is underway this week with clubs, schools, pubs and individuals eager to show their support for the team.

Over 50 clubs have signed up for the ‘Blue Leinster’ packs and anyone who can’t make it to Edinburgh this weekend is encouraged to attend will their nearest participating club and get behind Michael Cheika’s squad.

Primary and Secondary schools throughout Leinster are being encouraged to wear blue on Friday to show their support for the players.

As a result of unprecedented demand, flags and posters have been distributed to pubs around the province.

Anyone taking part in ‘Blue Province’, and decorating their home, school, local pub or rugby club should send in photos to leinsternews@leinsterrugby.ie to be featured on www.leinsterrugby.ie.

LEINSTER Squad (v Leicester Tigers): Backs (12) – Chris Keane, Simon Keogh, Chris Whitaker, Jonathan Sexton, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney, Gordon D’Arcy, Fergus McFadden, Brian O’Driscoll, Shane Horgan, Girvan Dempsey, Isa Nacewa.

Forwards (14) – Cian Healy, Ronan McCormack, John Fogarty, Bernard Jackman, Stephen Knoop, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Trevor Hogan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Devin Toner, Rocky Elsom, Shane Jennings, Sean O’Brien, Jamie Heaslip.