Jump to main content


Munster Cup Glory For CBC

Munster Cup Glory For CBC

There was joy unconfined for Christian Brothers College Cork on Sunday as they carved out a 33-19 win over Rockwell College in the Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup at Musgrave Park.



Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: CBC: Tries: Ronan Barry 2, Darragh Dunne, Joe Holland, Robert Clune; Cons: Joe Holland, Darragh Dunne 3

Rockwell: Try: Shane Buckley; Pens: Paul McEvoy 4

Christian Brothers College Cork regained the Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup after a six-year gap with a deserved victory over Rockwell in the final at Musgrave Park. It was a record 28th title for CBC.

In an evenly-contested opening half, the sides finished level at the break 12-12, but the Sydney Hill College took complete control in the second half.

CBC managed to run in three converted tries to put the game beyond Rockwell’s reach.

Christians opened the scoring after six minutes with a try from Ronan Barry which Joe Holland converted.

However, indiscipline cost the Cork side dearly as Paul McEvoy slotted over penalties on 9, 18 and 31 minutes to give Rockwell a 9-7 lead.

Two minutes before the break, Holland got in for a second Christians try but McEvoy was on target with his fourth penalty to level the scores on the stroke of half-time.

Christians dominated the second half and tries by Barry, Robert Clune and Darragh Dunne – with Dunne converting all three made it – 33-12 in favour of the Cork school.

Shane Buckley got in for a consolation try for Rockwell late in the game and McEvoy converted.

CBC CORK: R Clune; E O’Donnell, B O’Leary, J Holland, G Mackessy; D Dunne, B Slater; C Corkery, K Stokes, D Attridge, B Hayes (capt), S Hanbridge, E Doyle, R Barry, W Ryan.

Replacements used: C Quinn for Mackessy (47 mins), S Barry for O’Leary (66), E O’Sullivan for Attridge, J Maloney for Slater (both 68), R Martin for Stokes, M O’Mahony for Corkery, Y Browne for Barry (all 71).

ROCKWELL: P McEvoy; K O’Dwyer, D Ryan, B Smith, W O’Connor; JJ Hanrahan, E Ahern; T Doyle, L O’Donnell, B Cullinane, S Buckley, S O’Flynn, S Maguire, J Nolan, P Butler (capt).

Replacements used: Cian O’Donnell for L O’Donnell (37 mins), C O’Donnell for Doyle, L Horgan for O’Flynn (both 51), J Lonergan for Nolan (68), T Rafferty for Aherne, R Mullane for O’Dwyer, B O’Rahelly for O’Connor (all 71).

Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (Munster)