Jump to main content


Irish Colleges Squad Named For England Clash

Irish Colleges Squad Named For England Clash

The Irish Colleges, sponsored by Treasury Holdings, have named an extended squad for their clash with England students at City of Derry RFC on Friday.

Irish Colleges and England Students have both announced ther squads for the countries’ international encounter this Friday night at City of Derry Rugby Football Club (kick-off 7.30pm).

The Irish Colleges squad have made seven changes in personnel from the playing panel that was recently defeated 18-3 the French Students at Balbriggan RFC.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Both Ireland and England have a long history of producing International players and there should be a number of future Internationals on show in Derry on Friday.

The present English International team have three former England Students in their ranks, Harry Ellis, Andrew Sheridan and Nick Easter, who played against Wales recently.

Meanwhile, Paul O’Connell, Donncha O’Callaghan, Jamie Heaslip, Marcus Horan, Denis Leamy and David Wallace have all played for the Irish Colleges.

IRISH COLLEGES SQUAD (v England Students, City of Derry RFC, Friday, February 27, kick-off 7.30pm):
Forwards – 

Mike Storey (UL/ULBohemians), Rob Sweeney (SBS/St. Mary’s College RFC), Mark Hamilton (DIT/Terenure College RFC), Cian Culleton (Sallynoggin FE/Blackrock College RFC), Batt Duggan (Garda Colllege/UL Bohemians), Robin Copeland (DBS/St. Mary’s College), Ben Reilly (DCU/Suttonians), David Houston (PSNI/City of Derry), John Downey (Sallynoggin FE/Greystones), John Dever (Garda College/Terenure College RFC), Andrew Kerr (UUJ/Rainey Old Boys), Eoghan Nihill (Blackhall PLC/Wanderers)

Backs – 
Sean Treacy (DCU/Clontarf), Andrew Semple (UUJ/City of Derry), Brian Collins (IT Blanchardstown/Old Belvedere), Mark O’Connor (UUJ/City of Derry), Sean Joyce (NUIG/Connemara), Lorcan Kavanagh (DCU/Lansdowne), Kevin Lynch (CSN/Dolphin), Craig Morrin (ITTallaght/St. Mary’s College), Daragh Fanning (IT Tallagh/St. Mary’s College), Mark Geraghty (DCU/Greystones), Paul Harte (Athlone IT/Buccaneers)
England Students Squad:

Forwards: Billy Moss (Exeter), Jon Moyce (VC) (St. Mary’s), James Hall (Liverpool), Andy Bridgemen (Bristol), Adrian Griffiths (Bath), Ian Kench (Oxford), Ben Maidment (Durham), Simon Pitfield (Loughborough), Rob Wood (Loughborough), Tom Malaney (Cambridge), Adam Bellamy (Bristol), Tom Fidler (Bath)

Backs: Grant Pointer (Loughborough), Toby Henry (Oxford), Sean Morris (Oxford), Phil Ellis (Hertfordshire) (capt), Dave Butler (Bristol), Drew Locke (Northumbria), Paul Trendall (Loughborough), William Nelson (Nottingham), Rob Springhall (Nottingham), Alan Awcock (UWIC)