Jump to main content



Try Of The Year Honour For O’Driscoll And Ireland

Try Of The Year Honour For O’Driscoll And Ireland

At Sunday evening’s IRB Awards in London, Brian O’Driscoll’s try against Australia in last June’s Test match in Melbourne was announced as the International Rugby Players Association’s Try of the Year.

The Ireland team gained recognition from the International Rugby Players Association for scoring what they believe is the try of 2008.

After Dr Jack Kyle’s induction into the IRB Hall of Fame, the second Irish win at the 2008 IRB Awards came when Brian O’Driscoll’s try against Australia in June was selected as the Try of the Year.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The memorable score, which started off with a lineout close to the Irish try line, was a real ‘team’ effort.

Donncha O’Callaghan claimed Jerry Flannery’s lineout throw, then Eoin Reddan sent up a high kick which the leaping Denis Leamy brilliantly won in the air.

The ball was quickly recycled on the Irish ten-metre line and a looping pass from Paddy Wallace out to the left sent Rob Kearney dashing into the Australian half.

He managed to slip a pass inside for the onrushing Tommy Bowe to burst onto.

With the Wallabies’ defence stretched, the winger danced along the left touchline before powering into the 22 and then passing to his right for the supporting O’Driscoll to muscle his way over the try line, past Matt Giteau.

You can watch the try in full here.

The big winner on the night at the IRB Awards was Wales winger Shane Williams, who was named IRB Player of the Year.

New Zealand also finished with a very impressive haul, collecting the gongs for Team of the Year, Coach of the Year (Graham Henry), Junior Player of the Year (Luke Braid) and Sevens Player of the Year (DJ Forbes) amongst others.


IRB Player of the Year: Shane Williams (Wales)

IRB Team of the Year: New Zealand

IRB Coach of the Year: Graham Henry (New Zealand)

IRB Junior Player of the Year: Luke Braid (New Zealand)

IRB Sevens Player of the Year: DJ Forbes (New Zealand)

Spirit of Rugby Award: Roelien Muller and Patrick Cotter

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service: Sir Nicholas Shehadie

IRB Referee Award for Distinguished Service: Andre Watson

IRB International Women’s Personality of the Year: Carol Isherwood

IRB Development Award: Tag Rugby Development Trust and Martin Hansford

IRPA Special Merit Award: Agustin Pichot

IRPA Try of the Year: Brian O’Driscoll, Ireland v Australia

IRB Hall of Fame inductees: 1888 Natives Team of New Zealand & Joe Warbrick, Melrose & Ned Haig, Dr Jack Kyle, Hugo Porta and Philippe Sella