Jump to main content


Casey To Captain Ireland ‘A’ Team

Casey To Captain Ireland ‘A’ Team

London Irish lock Bob Casey has been named captain of the Ireland ‘A’ squad for the upcoming Barclays Churchill Cup which is taking place in Canada and the USA next month.

Casey, a five-times capped full international, is part of the Ireland senior squad that will play against the Barbarians on Tuesday, May 27. 

Following that game, Casey will join up with the rest of the 28-man Ireland ‘A’ squad before they depart for Canada, where they will face the USA in their first game on Wednesday, June 11.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Casey made his senior debut for Ireland in 1999 against Australia and went on to play against Argentina, England, USA and Canada.

The former North Kildare, Blackrock and Leinster player moved to London Irish in 2002 and was captain of the side that reached the semi-finals of the Heineken Cup this season.

There is also an addition to the Ireland ‘A’ coaching team for the Churchill Cup, with former Ireland scrum half Dave O’Mahony named as assistant coach for the tournament. 

IRELAND ‘A’ SQUAD (2008 Barclays Churchill Cup tournament, USA and Canada, June 11-21):


*Neil Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon/Ulster)

*Bob Casey (London Irish) (capt)

Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)

Sean Cronin (Shannon/Munster)

*Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)

Denis Fogarty (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

*Trevor Hogan (Shannon/Leinster)

Daragh Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster)

*Johnny O’Connor (Corinthians/Connacht)

David Pollock (Dungannon/Ulster)

Michael Ross (Harlequins)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

*Roger Wilson (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

BACKS (13) –

Gary Brown (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Keith Earls (Garryowen/Munster)

Ian Humphreys (Leicester)

Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster)

*Kieran Lewis (Garryowen/Munster)

Keith Matthews (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Mark McCrea (Malone/Ulster)

Frank Murphy (Leicester)

Johne Murphy (Leicester)

Fergus McFadden (UCD/Leinster)

*Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster)

Johnathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Not considered:

Declan Fitzpatrick (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster)

Barry Murphy (UL Bohemians/Munster)

N.B. * Capped at full international level

Tour Management:

Allen Clarke – Coach

Dave O’Mahony – Assistant Coach

John McKibbin – Team Manager

George Murray – Video Analysis

Ray Egan – Fitness Advisor

Dr. Eanna Falvey – Doctor

James Allen – Physiotherapist

Johnny O’Hagan – Baggage Master


Wednesday, June 11, 2008: USA v Ireland ‘A’ at Richardson Stadium, Kingston

Saturday, June 14, 2008: Ireland ‘A’ v England Saxons at Fletchers Fields, Toronto

Saturday, June 21, 2008: Barclays Churchill Cup finals day at Toyota Park, Chicago 

All information for the tournament can be found on the tournament website: http://www.barclayschurchillcuprugby.com/