Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Ireland Team To Play Argentina

Ireland Team To Play Argentina

Ireland coach Eddie O’Sullivan has made two changes to the starting team to play Argentina in the final World Cup Pool D match against Argentina this Sunday (Parc des Princes, kick-off 4pm Irish time/5pm local time).

Geordan Murphy is named at full-back in place of Girvan Dempsey and Denis Hickie returns to the team instead of Andrew Trimble, who is named amongst the replacements.

There are two vacancies left for the hooker positions in the starting side and also on the bench, as both Jerry Flannery and Rory Best are recovering from injuries they picked up in recent matches. 

The final two spots will be named later in the week as soon as medical clearance for the players is confirmed.

Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll said: “It’s important that Irish supporters realise that our poor results are not down to a lack of effort. We had a meeting on Monday and spoke about how important it was for us and everyone who supports Irish rugby that we can’t simply bow our heads because things haven’t gone right to date. We still have an opportunity to qualify for the play-offs and that’s got to be our sole focus.”

IRELAND TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Argentina, Parc des Princes, Sunday, September 30, 4pm Irish time/5pm local time):

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

15 – Geordan Murphy  (Leicester)
14 – Shane Horgan  (Boyne/Leinster)  
13 – Brian O’Driscoll  (UCD/Leinster) (captain)
12 – Gordon D’Arcy  (Lansdowne/Leinster)  
11 – Denis Hickie  (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
10 – Ronan O’Gara  (Cork Constitution/Munster)  
9 – Eoin Reddan  (Wasps)  
1 – Marcus Horan  (Shannon/Munster)  
2 – A.N. Other 
3 – John Hayes  (Bruff/Munster) 
4 – Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)  
5 – Paul O’Connell  (Young Munster/Munster)
6 – Simon Easterby  (Llanelli) 
7 – David Wallace  (Garryowen/Munster)
8 – Denis Leamy  (Cork Constitution/Munster)  


16 – A.N. Other
17 – Simon Best  (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
18 – Malcolm O’Kelly (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
19 – Neil Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
20 – Isaac Boss  (Ballymena/Ulster)
21 – Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)  
22 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Not considered due to injury:

Girvan Dempsey (shoulder) (Terenure College/Leinster)