Jump to main content


Magners League Dream Team Is Announced

Magners League Dream Team Is Announced

Four Ireland internationals – Gordon D’Arcy, Simon Easterby, Jamie Heaslip and Denis Hickie – have been included in the Magners League Dream Team for 2006/07. The team line-up, chosen by the rugby media across Ireland, Scotland and Wales, also includes Leinster out-half Felipe Contepomi and Ulster lock Justin Harrison.

To celebrate its first year as title sponsor of the Magners League, Magners Irish Cider is pleased to announce the inaugural Magners League Dream Team. Rugby media across Ireland, Scotland and Wales have been asked to vote for the player that impressed them the most in each position for the duration of the season.

Expansive rugby is common place in the Magners League and teams like Leinster and Llanelli Scarlets have certainly been a testament to that this season. Dynamic backs Denis Hickie, Gordon D’Arcy and Felipe Contepomi represent the title contenders from Leinster, while the Scarlets’ pack have clearly impressed with Iestyn Thomas, Matthew Rees and Simon Easterby representing the West Walians.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Maurice Breen, Marketing Director for Wm Magner, said: “We are delighted to announce the inaugural Magners League Dream Team today. There has been some fantastic rugby played throughout the Magners League this season and the competitiveness of the teams has been one of the major talking points amongst both fans and pundits.

“The fact that there are still three teams in the running as we head into the final weekend of fixtures proves just how much of a close-run competition the Magners League has become.”

Celtic Rugby Director David Jordan added: “The Magners League Dream Team perfectly illustrates the quality and strength of players within the Magners League. This season has seen the Magners League continue to grow, with average attendances up yet again year on year and more and more teams competing in front of sell-out crowds. Strong performances from Magners League teams in this years’ European Cup have also added to the growing reputation of the Magners League within the greater rugby community. “

Ospreys speedster Shane Williams, who has been voted into the Dream Team on the back of some stunning late season form, had this to say on his selection: “I’m thrilled to have been voted into the inaugural Magners League Dream Team. It’s an honour to be able to see my name alongside some very good players from the Magners League and this season has been more competitive than ever.”

Magners Irish Cider would like to thank all those from the combined rugby media who took the time to send in their votes.

The 2006/07 Magners League Dream Team:

15 – Ben Blair (Cardiff Blues)
14 – Denis Hickie (Leinster)
13 – Regan King (Llanelli Scarlets)
12 – Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster)
11 – Shane Williams (Ospreys)
10 – Felipe Contepomi (Leinster)
9 – Mike Phillips (Cardiff Blues)
1 – Iestyn Thomas (Llanelli Scarlets)
2 – Matthew Rees (Llanelli Scarlets)
3 – Euan Murray (Glasgow Warriors)
4 – Justin Harrison (Ulster)
5 – Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)
6 – Simon Easterby (Llanelli Scarlets)
7 – Colin Charvis (Newport Gwent Dragons)
8 – Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)