Jump to main content


Much-Changed Under-19s To Face Japan

Much-Changed Under-19s To Face Japan

Get along to Shaw’s Bridge on Tuesday evening to see the Ireland Under-19s take on Japan in their penultimate game of the 2007 IRB U-19 World Championship. Please note this fixture is an all-ticket match – further details from www.ulsterrugbytickets.com.

There are several changes, both in personnel and position, to the Ireland Under-19 team (sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers) that will play in Tuesday’s 9th-12th place play-off at the IRB U-19 World Championship.

The match takes place at Shaw’s Bridge in Belfast and has a 7.30pm kick-off.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The first of the changes sees Jamie Smith move from full-back to outside centre, with Niall Morris, who had to pull out of the South Africa match on the day of the game due to a foot injury, selected at number 15. Eoin O’Malley takes over at out-half instead of Scott Deasy. Kris Greene also replaces Harry McAleese at scrum half.

Ireland’s entire front row has been changed with Ian Leonard, Michael Sherry and Matthew Nelson replacing Paul Karayiannis, Stephen Douglas and Patrick McCabe respectively. The final alteration to the team is in the back row, where Patrick Mallon steps in for Kieran Essex.

IRELAND U-19 TEAM AND REPLACEMENTS (v Japan U-19, IRB U-19 World Championship, Shaw’s Bridge, Tuesday, April 17, kick-off 7.30pm):

– Player/School/Club –

15 – Niall Morris (Blackrock College RFC)
14 – Alan Gaughan (Buccaneers)
13 – Jamie Smith (Ballymena)
12 – Murray Kinsella (Newtown School, Waterford)
11 – Paddy Brophy (St. Michael’s College)
10 – Eoin O’Malley (UCD)
9 – Kris Greene (St. Mary’s College RFC)
1 – Ian Leonard (St. Michael’s College)
2 – Michael Sherry (Ard Scoil Ris)
3 – Matthew Nelson (Ballynahinch)
4 – David Foley (UL Bohemians)
5 – Ian Nagle (Glenstal Abbey)
6 – Patrick Mallon (St. Michael’s College)
7 – Rajan Reilly (St. Michael’s College)
8 – Paul Ryan (Blackrock College RFC) (capt)


16 – Stephen Douglas (Ballymena)
17 – Paul Karayiannis (RBAI/Queen’s)
18 – Patrick McCabe (Dublin University FC)
19 – Brian Cawley (UCD)
20 – Kieran Essex (Christian Brothers College, Cork/UCC)
21 – Harry McAleese (Ballynahinch)
22 – Scott Deasy (Presentation Brothers College, Cork)
23 – Tommy Seymour (Down High School)
24 – Conor Cleary (St. Michael’s College)
25 – Adam Craig (Instonians)
26 – Jason Harris-Wright (Blackrock College)

Management –

Head coach: Charlie McAleese
Manager: Gerard Slattery
Assistant coach: Bobby Byrne
Defence coach: Kurt McQuilkin
Fitness coach: Ray Egan
Doctor: Tim O’Flanagan
Physio: Shane Collins
Physio: Josh Hoopes
Technical analyst: Derek Suffern