Jump to main content


Four Changes For Under-19s

Four Changes For Under-19s

Ireland Under-19 coach Charlie McAleese has made four changes to his team for Friday’s crunch IRB U-19 World Championship game against South Africa at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.30pm).

There have been four changes made to the Ireland U-19 team (sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers) to play South Africa in the IRB U-19 World Championship on Friday at Ravenhill.

Jamie Smith, who came off the bench during the game against Scotland and played such an important role in that victory, has been selected at full-back, while Murray Kinsella has been picked at inside centre in place of Conor Cleary. It is Kinsella’s first appearance in the tournament after being involved in the warm-up games against Wales and Italy.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Patrick McCabe retains his place at tighthead prop, having come on for Matthew Nelson in the 13-12 win over Scotland and the fourth change sees David Foley chosen in the second row instead of Brian Cawley.

Irish coach Charlie McAleese said: “Our last game showed what great spirit we have in the squad and tomorrow’s game will test that spirit even further. South Africa have proved that they are a top side so far and after their close loss to France, they will be looking to get their tournament back on track with a possible top four finish.

“Our challenge is to raise our game again and while there is pressure to win every time you put on the Ireland jersey, I am sure that the squad will rise to the occasion. The support so far has been tremendous and another big crowd at Ravenhill will hopefully give us that little bit extra we need.”

IRELAND U-19 TEAM AND REPLACEMENTS (Sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers) (v South Africa U-19, IRB U-19 World Championship, Ravenhill, Belfast, Friday, April 13, kick-off 7.30pm):

15 – Jamie Smith (Ballymena)
14 – Niall Morris (Blackrock College RFC)
13 – Eoin O’Malley (UCD)
12 – Murray Kinsella (Newtown School, Waterford)
11 – Paddy Brophy (St. Michael’s College)
10 – Scott Deasy (Presentation Brothers College, Cork)
9 – Harry McAleese (Ballynahinch)
1 – Paul Karayiannis (RBAI/Queen’s)
2 – Stephen Douglas (Ballymena)
3 – Patrick McCabe (Dublin University FC)
4 – David Foley (UL Bohemians)
5 – Ian Nagle (Glenstal Abbey)
6 – Kieran Essex (Christian Brothers College, Cork/UCC)
7 – Rajan Reilly (St. Michael’s College)
8 – Paul Ryan (Blackrock College) (capt)


16 – Michael Sherry (Ard Scoil Ris/Garryowen)
17 – Ian Leonard (St. Michael’s College)
18 – Matthew Nelson (Ballynahinch)
19 – Brian Cawley (UCD)
20 – Jason Harris-Wright (Blackrock College)
21 – Patrick Mallon (St. Michael’s College)
22 – Kris Greene (St. Mary’s College RFC)
23 – Adam Craig (Instonians)
24 – Conor Cleary (St. Michael’s College)
25 – Alan Gaughan (Buccaneers)
26 – Tommy Seymour (Down High School)

Management –

Head coach – Charlie McAleese
Manager – Gerard Slattery
Assistant coach – Bobby Byrne
Defence coach – Kurt McQuilkin
Fitness coach – Ray Egan
Doctor – Tim O’Flanagan
Physio – Shane Collins
Physio – Josh Hoopes
Technical Analyst – Derek Suffern