Jump to main content


IRB U19 World Cup.

IRB U19 World Cup.

Christian Brother’s College wing-forward, Michael Essex will captain the Ireland Under 19s in their opening World Cup game against New Zealand in Durban on Saturday.

The Ireland Under 19 team & replacements to play their opening game in the IRB Under 19 World Championship against New Zealand on
March 27th 2004 at ABSA Stadium, Durban, (4pm local time) is as follows:
15. Fionn Carr (Newbridge College)
14. Jamie McGrugan (Ballymena)
13. Mark Scott (Belfast Harlequins)
12. Stewart Megaw (Queens University)
11. Eamon Fitzgerald (Old Belvedere)
10. Conor Gildea (Terenure College)
9. Cillian Willis (UCD)
1. Killian O’Neill (Dublin University)
2. Gary Moran (UCD)
3. Paul Doran-Jones (Dublin University)
4. Ross Noonan (UCC)
5. Billy Holland (CBC)
6. Michael Essex (CBC) Capt.
7. John McCall (Royal School Armagh)
8. Stephen Ferris (Portadown)
16. John Kerins (UCC)
17. Matt Moloney (UCC)
18. Gary Mitchell
19. David McGowan (Sligo)
20. Peter Phelan (Exiles)
21. Colin
22. Cian McNaughton (Greystones)
23. Kevin Barden
24. Mark Connaughty (Ballymena Academy)
25. Gary Byrne
(Terenure College)
26. Conor Lavery (Rainey Endowed School).
* N.B. Fergus McGuckian (Dublin University) has withdrawn from the
squad due
to an ankle injury sustained last weekend and has been replaced by
Connaughty (Ballymena Academy).

Ireland Schedule of Matches:
Ireland V New Zealand, March 27th, Kick off: 4.00pm (local time)
Ireland V Japan, March 31st, Kick off: 4.00pm (local time)
Ireland V England, April 4th, kick off: 4.00pm (local time).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article