Jump to main content


New Zealand Divisional XV Take on Italy.

New Zealand Divisional XV Take on Italy.

Ireland’s opponents next Saturday play Italy today, at
Taupo (kickoff 2.35pm) and coach Noel McQuilkin has made five changes to the team who lost to Bay of Plenty 17-19 on Tuesday.

Coach Noel McQuilkin has added speed and size to the forward pack to confront the bulky Italian forwards. McQuilkin has shuffled the loose trio with Nelson Bay’s Aaron Griffith replaced by Thames Valley’s Simon McKearney at openside flanker while Mutu Ngarimu of Hawke’s Bay has come in for King Country and Taupo club player Daniel Alofa who has dropped back to No 8.

In the backs, Manawatu’s Matt Harvey moves in a place to partner Hawke’s Bay’s Sam Leung-Wai in the centres while King Country teenager Pehi Te Whare replaces Michael Pettman of Manawatu on the right wing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The NZ Divisional XV that Ireland is to play, are all 2nd and 3rd dividion players from around NZ.
In case you don’t know, this is the New Zealand
Divisional XV to play Italy on Sunday, June 2
Tim Manawatu (Hawke’s Bay), Pehi Te Whare (King
Country), Sam Leung-Wai (Hawke’s Bay), Matt Harvey
(Manawatu), Pila Fifita (North Otago), Mano Flutey
(East Coast), Lee Peina (King Country, captain), Mutu
Ngarimu (Hawke’s Bay), Simon McKearney (Thames
Valley), Daniel Alofa (King Country), Kele Leawere
(East Coast), Matt Porter (Marlborough), Peter Bielski
(Hawke’s Bay), Paul Mitchell (King Country), Clint
Newland (Hawke’s Bay).
Reserves: Derek Leefe (East Coast), Jeremy Hapeta
(Manawatu), Kahu Marfell (Nelson Bays), Aaron Griffith
(Nelson Bays), Quintyn Austin (Manawatu), Joe Fa’aiu
(Nelson Bays), Dwayne Kemp (Wanganui).
Coaches: Noel McQuilkin and Kieran Keane