Jump to main content


Munster Finalise Their Starting Line Up.

Munster Finalise Their Starting Line Up.

Munster finalised their starting line up for today’s Heineken Cup Final with John O’Neill taking over from Anthony Horgan and Paul O’Connell set to partner Mick Galwey in the engine room.

Rob Henderson was also given the all clear and will form his usual mid field partnership with Jason Holland.

D Crotty; J Kelly, R Henderson, J Holland, J O’Neill; R O’Gara, P Stringer, P Clohessy, F Sheahan, J Hayes; M Galwey capt., P O’Connell; A Quinlan, D Wallace, A Foley.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

O’Neill’s dramatic return to the side recalls memories of his role in the semi final twelve months ago when he scored a try which was disallowed on the intervention of the touch judge. The player himself was philosophical about his recall.

” Obviously I’m delighted to be in the starting line up but that having been said I was the utmost sympathy for Anthony (Horgan) and the way he had to miss out. Everyone wants to be picked for he Hieneken Cup final and Hoggy, in fairness, was the first to congratulate me. I’m looking forward to it.

Anthony Foley also won his battle to regain fitness and will anchor the scrum with Jim Williams named on the replacement bench along with forwards James Blaney, Marcus Horan and Mick O’Driscoll. Donnacha O’Callagahan who came on in the semi final as a replacement when Foley injured his shoulder is the one who misses out.

Munster will leave their base at the Vale of Glamorgan at 1pm and expect to arrive at the stadium at 1.45pm (approx).