Jump to main content


A Belvedere, Mary’s Decider at Lansdowne Road.

A Belvedere, Mary’s Decider at Lansdowne Road.

Winners in 1994, after a replay with Clongowes, St Mary’s take on Belvedere, whose last visit to Lansdowne Road was in 1992, in the final of the Coca-Cola Leinster Schools Senior at Lansdowne Road.

On the evidence alone of the sides they’ve beaten, St Mary’s go into this game as favourites. They’ve seen off the winners from the past three years and looked very impressive when beating Castleknock in the semi-final.

Belvedere on the other hand have had to work that bit harder. The pre- competition favourites, their toughest hurdle was presented by St Michaels before they accounted for Roscrea in the semi’s. Included in their side is Kevin Barden who played with the Juniors final last year while full-back Eamon Fitzgerald is more than capable of causing Mary’s all sorts of problems.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Mary’s have improved with each game they’ve played. Always renownwed for classy backs, this year they’ve aded a formidable pck to their repetoire. That combination may prove just too much for Belvedere.

Paths to the final – St. Mary’s College: beat Terenure (holders) 32-14; beat Clongowes Wood 27-14; beat Blackrock College 18-11; beat Castleknock 34-7.

Belvedere College: first round – bye; beat Newbridge 13-3; beat St. Michael’s 6-3; beat Roscrea 13-3.

ST. MARY’S COLLEGE: S. Grissing, J. Clarke, M. Ryan (captain), M. Furlong, R. Doherty, J. Connolly, S. Gibney, K. O’Byrne, O. McCormack, R. Sweeney, N. Conway, F. O’Sullivan, J. Ryan, C. Lennon, P. Nash.

BELVEDERE COLLEGE: E. Fitzgerald, M. Hewitt, B. McLoughlin, P. Hobbs, K. Barden, J. Kennedy, M. Broe, E. O’Meara, P. McGuire, M. Hayes, R. Leyden, B. McArdle, C. Murphy, D. O’Kane, D. O’Brien (captain).

Referee: A. Rolland (Leinster).