Jump to main content


Ireland Senior Squad for Game v Italy

Ireland Senior Squad for Game v Italy

14/03/02.The Ireland rugby squad of 23 from which the team to play Italy in the Lloyds TSB Six Nations Championship at Lansdowne Road (Sat. March 23rd (14:00), has been finalised.

The one big surprise is the absence of Mick Galwey, who captained the side in their three games so far. The team to play the Italians will be announced on Tuesday next (March 19th) at the Glenview Hotel following an open training session at Greystones RFC (11.15 am – 11.45). Kevin Maggs, Geordan Murphy and Rob Henderson were not considered because of injury.

It was also announced today that the following players will be available for selection by their clubs: Shane Byrne (Blackrock), John Hayes (Shannon), Gary Longwell (Ballymena), Eric Miller (Terenure) and the Cork Con trio of Ronan O’Gara, John Kelly and Frank Sheahan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Forwards: Shane Byrne (Leinster), Peter Clohessy (Munster), Simon Easterby (Llanelli), Anthony Foley (Munster), John Hayes (Munster), Gary Longwell (Ulster), Eric Miller (Leinster), Paul O’Connell (Munster), Malcolm O’Kelly (Leinster), Frank Sheahan (Munster), David Wallace (Munster), Paul Wallace (Leinster) Keith Wood (Harlequins).

Backs: Girvan Dempsey (Leinster), Guy Easterby (Llanelli), Denis Hickie (Leinster), Shane Horgan (Leinster), Tyrone Howe (Ulster), David Humphreys (Ulster), John Kelly (Munster), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster), Ronan O’Gara (Munster), Peter Stringer (Munster).