Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland U-20 Team Unchanged For England Clash

Ireland U-20 Team Unchanged For England Clash

The Ireland Under-20 team, sponsored by PwC, to play England in their second pool game of the IRB Junior World Championship in South Africa has been named.

The Irish management, led by head coach Mike Ruddock, has retained the same starting side that secured an historic 23-19 victory in their first game of the tournament on Monday.

Shane Buckley and Stuart Olding have been added to the replacements bench, with the Ireland U-20s looking to gain revenge on England for a 20-9 defeat in the final round of the Six Nations.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Commenting on Friday’s encounter, Ruddock said: “England are the current Six Nations champions and we will have to reproduce the intensity we showed against South Africa if we are to get a result in this game.

“We have done our homework and we are now looking forward to the game.”

The top of the table clash in Stellenbosch will be shown live on TG4 and Sky Sports 2.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v England Under-20s, IRB Junior World Championship Pool B, Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch, Friday, June 8, 6.45pm local time/5.45pm Irish time):

15. Peter Nelson (Dungannon/Ulster)
14. Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
13. Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
12. Chris Farrell (Dungannon/Ulster)
11. Sam Coghlan Murray (UCD/Leinster)
10. JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster)
9. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
1. Des Merrey (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) (capt)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Leinster)
5. Iain Henderson (Queen’s University/Ulster)
6. Jordan Coghlan (UCD/Leinster)
7. Conor Gilsenan (UCD/Mullingar/Leinster)
8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)


16. James Rael (Garryowen/Munster)
17. Peter Reilly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Jake Cawley (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Alan O’Connor (UCD/Leinster)
20. Shane Buckley (Garryowen/Munster)
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht)
23. Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)



All kick-off times are local –

Monday, June 4: England 64 Italy 5, University of Western Cape Stadium, Cape Town
Monday, June 4: South Africa 19 Ireland 23, Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch
Friday, June 8: South Africa v Italy, 6.45pm (University of Western Cape Stadium, Cape Town)
Friday, June 8: England v Ireland, 6.45pm (Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch)
Tuesday, June 12: Ireland v Italy, 2.45pm (Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch)
Tuesday, June 12: South Africa v England, 6.45pm (Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch)

Related Links –

Match Highlights: South Africa U-20s 19 Ireland U-20s 23

2012 IRB Junior World Championship