Jump to main content


Ulster Ravens Side Named For Swansea Game

Ulster Ravens Side Named For Swansea Game

The Ulster Ravens team to play Swansea this Saturday in the first of their British & Irish Cup Pool C matches has been named, with hooker Nigel Brady selected as captain.

Ireland Wolfhounds hooker Nigel Brady will captain Ulster Ravens for their opening game in this season’s British & Irish Cup.

Saturday’s clash with Swansea will take place at St. Helen’s (kick-off 2.30pm).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The visitors’ starting line-up for the Pool C encounter includes Conor Gaston, Paddy Jackson, Ryan Caldwell and Thomas Anderson who all played for Dungannon in the All-Ireland League last weekend, with ‘Gannon winger Chris Cochrane also on the Ravens’ replacements bench.

Luke Marshall, the victorious Leinster/Ulster captain from the O2 Challenge match, is a player to watch out for, while prop Alan Whitten, who has recently featured on the replacements bench for the Ulster senior side, will be keen to build on his growing reputation.

Ravens coach Neil Doak is hoping his charges can better their performance in the inaugural British & Irish Cup, which saw them reach the semi-finals before bowing out to Munster (27-3).

Ulster’s second string played Munster in a recent interprovincial tie in Nenagh, going down 30-3 in a game that was marred by a serious ankle injury sustained by prop Adam Macklin.

The first round of the 2010/11 British & Irish Cup was not meant to kick off until early December, however, in order to avoid a clash with the Six Nations it was agreed that some of the matches in round 5, when Ulster were due to play away to Swansea, would be moved to this weekend.

As per last season, there will again be five rounds of competition but an additional quarter-final stage has been added with the top two teams from each pool progressing to the last-eight.

ULSTER RAVENS (v Swansea): Conor Gaston; Mark McCrea, Jonny Shiels, Luke Marshall, Tommy Seymour; Paddy Jackson, Ian Porter; Conor Carey, Nigel Brady (capt), Alan Whitten, Neil McComb, Ryan Caldwell, Thomas Anderson, Willie Faloon, Scott LaValla.

Replacements: Niall Annett, Kyle McCall, Jerry Cronin, Paul Pritchard, Blane McIlroy, Michael Allen, Chris Cochrane.