Jump to main content


First Half Flurry Does The Damage For Clontarf

First Half Flurry Does The Damage For Clontarf

Garryowen’s nightmare start to life in AIB League Division 1A continued at Dooradoyle on Saturday as they slumped to an 18-3 defeat at the hands of Clontarf.

AIB LEAGUE: DIVISION 1A: Saturday, December 5


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Garryowen: Pen: Conor Murray
Clontarf: Tries: Carl de Chenu, Killian Lett; Con: Daragh O’Shea; Pens: Daragh O’Shea 2

Winless in the league since their opening night defeat of great rivals Shannon, Garryowen remain bottom of the pile on six points – albeit with a game in hand.

Paul Cunningham’s men got off to a simply awful start and were 18-0 in arrears at the interval.

Centre Killian Lett notched the opening try for ‘Tarf and left winger Carl de Chenu had another after a good movement that began from a ruck and the ball was moved out the line to the speedy winger.

Despite the heavy wind and rain, full-back Daragh O’Shea managed to convert one of the tries and he also punished Garryowen by landing two penalties.

Garryowen were disrupted by an early injury to out-half Gerry Hurley who had to go off. The hosts’ back-line was totally changed with Lorcan Bourke introduced off the bench, Willie Staunton moving to out-half and Ronan O’Mahony slotting in at full-back.

The Limerick side, who have qualified for next month’s AIB Cup semi-finals, fared slightly better in the second half but all they could muster was a penalty from promising scrum half Conor Murray.

The win has moved Clontarf level on 13 points with fourth-placed Shannon, ahead of the defending champions’ visit to Castle Avenue next Saturday.

GARRYOWEN: Willie Staunton; Ronan O’Mahony, Conan Doyle (capt), Kevin Hartigan, Diarmaid McCarthy; Gerry Hurley, Conor Murray; Rory Brosnan, Mike Sherry, Declan Lavery, Frank McKenna, Ed Mackey, Paul Neville, Anthony Kavanagh, David Sherry.

Replacements: Robert Meyer, Jason Harney, JP Cooney, Aaron McCloskey, Lorcan Bourke.

CLONTARF: Daragh O’Shea; Phil Howard, Henry Bryce, Killian Lett, Carl de Chenu; Peter O’Brien, Sean Treacy; Ciaran Kavanagh, Aaron Dundon, Niall Treston (capt), Ronan Bolger, Ben Reilly, Eoin Cremin, Peter Synott, Martin Garvey.

Replacements: Ben Barclay, Jason Harris-Wright, Niall Carson, Sean Carey, Martin Dufficy.

Referee: Alain Rolland (IRFU)