Jump to main content


Australia Make One Change

Australia Make One Change

Openside flanker David Pocock has come in for the benched George Smith in the only change Australian coach Robbie Deans has made to his side for Sunday’s GUINNESS Series Test against Ireland at Croke Park (kick-off 3pm).

David Pocock will make his 14th Test appearance but only his fifth start when the Wallabies take on Grand Slam champions Ireland this coming weekend.

The 21-year-old flanker started against New Zealand in Tokyo recently before coming on as a replacement during last Saturday’s 18-9 Cook Cup win over England at Twickenham.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The change in the back row aside, the Australian line-up is unchanged with Queensland Reds duo Quade Cooper and Digby Ioane linking up again in midfield.

The side will be led for just the third time by Rocky Elsom, the former Leinster flanker makes his return to Dublin as the captain of his country.

Australia coach Robbie Deans said: “Getting a result against England last weekend was a great confidence booster for the whole squad, but we know that the standard we produced last week won’t be good enough against this Irish team.

“There was an uncertainty about England, in terms of the transitional nature of their development as a team, that doesn’t pertain to Ireland.

“The Irish are an established and experienced combination who are used to winning and expect to win every time that they play.”

AUSTRALIA TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Ireland, GUINNESS Series 2009, Croke Park, Sunday, November 15, kick-off 3pm):

15 – Adam Ashley-Cooper (Brumbies)
14 – Peter Hynes (Queensland Reds)
13 – Digby Ioane (Queensland Reds)
12 – Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds)
11 – Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs)
10 – Matt Giteau (Brumbies)
9 – Will Genia (Queensland Reds)
1 – Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs)
2 – Stephen Moore (Brumbies)
3 – Ben Alexander (Brumbies)
4 – James Horwill (Queensland Reds)
5 – Mark Chisolm (Brumbies)
6 – Rocky Elsom (Brumbies) (capt)
7 – David Pocock (Western Force)
8 – Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs)


16 – Tatafu Polota Nau (NSW Waratahs)
17 – Matt Dunning (Western Force)
18 – Dean Mumm (NSW Waratahs)
19 – George Smith (Brumbies)
20 – Luke Burgess (NSW Waratahs)
21 – Ryan Cross (Western Force)
22 – James O’Connor (Western Force)