Jump to main content


Leinster name Heineken Cup squad

Leinster name Heineken Cup squad

The competitive situation amongst Leinster’s backs is reflected in the fact that James Norton, David McAllister, Brendan Burke and John McWeeney have missed out on Leinster’s Heineken Cup squad.

James Norton, Brendan Burke, David McAllister and John McWeeney have missed out on Leinster’s Heineken Cup squad.

Norton has played in all of Leinster’s last five matches and has performed very well, scoring three tries in his last two matches, and perhaps has most reason to be disappointed.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

But McWeeney and McAllister had both played four consecutive matches up to the Borders match (McWeeney being injured against Munster). Brendan Burke meanwhile, had less opportunity due to a groin injury, but looked sharp when coming on against The Borders.

It’s an indication of a particularly competitive situation amongst the Leinster backline.

Brian Blaney, David Blaney, Emmett Byrne, Shane Byrne, Reggie Corrigan (Captain), Peter Coyle, Victor Costello, Leo Cullen, Des Dillon, Ben Gissing, Gavin Hickie, Shane Jennings, John Lyne, Aidan McCullen, Eric Miller, Ricky Nebbett, Antony O’Donnell, Malcolm O’Kelly, Ciaran Potts, Niall Ronan

Gary Brown, Felipe Contepomi, Gordon D’Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Guy Easterby, Denis Hickie, David Holwell, Shane Horgan, Kieran Lewis, Brian O’Driscoll, Brian O’Meara, Brian O’Riordan, David Quinlan, Christian Warner