Jump to main content


Ulster name side for NEC Harlequins match on Friday

Ulster name side for NEC Harlequins match on Friday

After the Rotherham debacle, Ulster’s season gets underway with a friendly against NEC Harlequins on Friday at Ravenhill.

Neil McMillan will captain the Ulster side set the face the NEC Harlequins in the Celtic Cup Winners v Parker Pen Winners clash at Ravenhill this Friday night, kick off 7.30pm.

Harlequins have agreed to allow Ulster to name 11 players on the substitutes bench following the cancellation of their friendly against Rotherham last Friday while Coach Mark McCall was also able to announce that Ulster have managed to secure another friendly, against the Gwent Dragons on Saturday 28th August at Rodney Parade in Newport.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Mark McCall said; “Obviously we were disappointed not to be able to play last Friday evening, but it’s not the end of the world, particularly now that we’ve been able to secure another game, against the Dragons on Saturday 28th August. In many ways it will be lovely to play our first game of the season at home, and against the NEC Harlequins which are quality opposition.”

“This Friday will be very much about ourselves. We hope to give the majority of players significant game-time and try out some of the new things we’ve been working on during pre-season training.”

He added, “The Dragons fixture now means that we have two very tough matches leading into our first competitive game against Edinburgh on the 4th September but that will do us no harm at all.”

The winning side on Friday night will be awarded with the Bank of Ireland Challenge Trophy.

Ulster: 15 – Bryn Cunningham; 14 – James Topping; 13 – Shane Stewart; 12 – Adam Larkin; 11 – Andrew Maxwell; 10 – Paddy Wallace; 9 – Kieran Campbell; 1 – Ronan McCormack; 2 – Paul Shields; 3 – Rod Moore; 4 – Matt Mustchin; 5 – Rowan Frost; 6 – Neil Best; 7 – Neil McMillan (Captain); 8 – Campbell Feather.

Replacements: Jonny Bell; Seamus Mallon; Tommy Bowe; Neil Doak; Andy Ward; Michael McComish; Matt McCullough; Tim Barker; Simon Shawe; Nigel Brady; Bryan Young.