Jump to main content


AIB League .

AIB League .

Title holders Ballymena travel to Crowley Park on Saturday for a clash with Galwegians in the second series of matches in this season’s AIB League.

AIB League Division One.
Belfast Harlequins v Cork Constitution (Ref: Dermot Moloney).
Blackrock College v Co Carlow (Ref: Gareth Doyle).
Dolphin v St Mary’s College (Ref: Colin Stanley).
Dungannon v Shannon (Ref: Alan Rogan).
Galwegians v Ballymena (Ref: Leo Mayne).
Garryowen v Clontarf (Ref: Marshall Kilgore).
UCD v Buccaneers (Charlie Beverland).

Focus On – Galwegians v Ballymena.
10th in table; the first of two homes against Ulster clubs this season; having first played
Ballymena at home, in Feb. 1994 ( 3-13 in Div. Two ), Galwegians have now lost all five games against the men from Co. Antrim; last season’s losing margin ( 11 points ) was the biggest in the series; Galwegians success story against Ulster clubs is 56 % which makes Ballymena their obvious Ulster jinx club; in each of the past two seasons, Wegians’ have lost three of their home League games in Galway.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

2nd in table; the only trip to engage a Connacht club this season; the reigning AIB League
champions are required to visit Galway for the fourth time to fulfil the sixth League fixture between today’s clubs; Ballymena have over the years lost only twice to Connacht clubs in the League and one of these defeats ( 26-27 ) was by a one-point margin against Buccaneers at Athlone in March 2001; Aussie Mark Donato stands in as coach in the absence of Tony D’arcy, on Ireland duties at the Rugby World Cup.

1. Previous League Games Between Clubs:
All Matches – Galwegians: P-5; W-0, D-0, L-5
At Crowley Park – Galwegians: P-3; W-0, D-0, L-3,
At Neutral Venue: 2. Last Season, (at Eaton Park), Ballymena 42 (six tries) Galwegians 31 (four tries).Sat. 01/ 03 / 03.

AIB League Division Two.
Ballynahinch v Waterpark (Terence Deacon)
Maole v Sundays Well (Trevor Collins)
Old Belvedere v Dub University (Alistair McKay)
Thomond v Barnhall (Tom Horkan)
UCC v DLSP (George Clancy)
UL Bohemians v Old Crescent (Paul Eakin)
Young Munster v Midleton (Des Woods)
Bective Rangers v Terenure College (John Sheehan).

AIB League Division Three.
Ards v Naas (Eanna O’Dowd)
Greystones v Ballina (Mike Bebbington)
Highfield v Banbridge (Andrew Baird)
Old Wesley v Portadown (Richard Kerr)
Queens v City of Derry (Jude Quinn)
Skerries v Instonians (Paul Coughlan)
Suttonians v Corinthians (Gary Greer)
Wanderers v Clonakilty (David Armstrong).