Jump to main content


O’Shea Takes Over Presidency of Garryowen.

O’Shea Takes Over Presidency of Garryowen.

At the 118th AGM of Garryowen FC held in the club pavilion in Dooradoyle, Tony O’Shea was elected President in succession to Paddy Ryan.

The meeting paid a very warm tribute to the outgoing President Paddy Ryan, who had a very successful and energetic year, and was a very popular speaker at pre match lunches and a number of functions. He brought great prominence to the club through his presidency, and his inclusive style was widely appreciated both in and outside the club. In particular, his involvement across a large number of the club’s fundraising activities, was widely praised. In a typically emotive and colourful address, he spoke of his huge honour at being elected President of the Club, and notified those present that he had declined an invitation to be at Buckingham Palace for the Queen’s Jubilee celebrations, to perform his last official function as President.

The incoming President, Tony O’Shea, also received a very warm welcome from the attendance. The O’Shea family have been associated with Garryowen since its foundation, and Tony has held a number of positions on various committees, attending his first Garryowen Committee meeting in Cruise’s Hotel in 1959. His personal honour at being elected to the Presidency of Garryowen was very obvious through his address, and the fact that such a proud custodian of the long Garryowen tradition holds the highest office in the club is a very welcome development for all in the club.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The other officers of the club also received warm praise for the time and commitment given. The predominant theme discussed was the obligation placed on the club, and the willingness of the club to meet it, of achieving success in the AIL, in very difficult circumstance given the decline in interest in the AIL. The Garryowen Academy, which has completed its first year, has so far been a very successful, if long term initiative, and the meeting was advised of a number of internal changes to the coaching and general football structure from next season, to best prepare the club for success on the pitch.

Officers elected were.

President – Tony O’Shea.

Sen Vice President – John McMahon.

Chairman – Clement McInerney.
Secretary – John Griffin.
Treasurer – Brian O’Shea.
Club Adviser – Frank Hogan. (Term extended for a further two years).
Branch Delegate Jim Gibson.
PRO – Christy Barry.
Committee – Eoghan Prendergast / Ron Hogan.

Captain 1st XV – Colin Varley.