The IRFU Committee

The Home of Irish Rugby

Home page | Official Irish Rugby

Home page | Official Irish Rugby

The IRFU Committee

IRFU Committee The Irish Rugby Football Union is the governing body for the sport of Rugby Union on the island of Ireland.

Each affiliated rugby club or school nominates a member to their provincial branch committee and each branch elects members to the IRFU Committee.

IRFU Committee


Philip Orr

Vice Presidents

Ian McIlrath
Nicholas Comyn

Honorary Treasurer

Tom Grace

Chairman of Management Committee

Declan Madden

Immediate Past President

Stephen Hilditch

Committee Profiles

Click here for profiles of the IRFU Committee

Standing Committees 2016/17

D. Madden (Chair) , S.R. Hilditch, T. Grace, M. J. O'Sullivan, J.O' Driscoll, P. Whelan, I. McIlrath, P.R. Browne, D. Devaney, D. Kavanagh (Co-opted), in attendance P. Orr (non-voting), K. Potts, D. Nucifora, and S. McNamara.

Commercial and Marketing
D. Devaney (Chair), T. Grace, T. O'Beirne, P.R. Browne, P. Power, S. McNamara, and P. Dean (Co-opted).

National Professional Game Board
T. O'Beirne (Chair) R. Ryan, G. Barrett, G. Fitzgerald, W. Ruane, F. Sowman, D. Millar, G. Keegan, E. Reddan, P.R. Browne and D. Nucifora

Rugby Committee
G. Barrett (Chair) , N. Comyn, P. Orr, M. Quinn, J. Robinson, M. Cunningham, J. Gibson, D. Kavanagh, S. Black (Ulster Rugby Chair), P. Brady (Leinster Rugby Chair), B. Smith (Munster Rugby Chair), T. Carty (Connacht Rugby Chair), S. Walker and G. Black.

Four meetings per season, the Chairs of the Provincial Rugby Committees and the Exiles Representative will attend to monitor and report on the Strategic Plan.

T. Grace (Chair), A. Leddy, J. Gibson, M.P. Coghlan, J. Robinson, D. Madden, P.R. Browne, K. Potts, C. O'Brien, F. O'Rourke (co-opted) and L. Quinn (co-opted).


World Rugby
J.O'Driscoll and P.Whelan

Six Nations
P.R. Browne and P. Whelan

British & Irish Lions
T. Grace and P.R.Browne

EPRC Representatives
P.R. Browne and P.McNaughton

Rugby Europe (formerly FIRA) Representatives
J. O'Driscoll and D. Nucifora

Celtic Rugby
P.R. Browne and G. Fitzgerald

No ALT tag specified